It Finally Happened...My Camera Broke

in #photofeed6 years ago

Ok, well maybe not broke. But I was shooting at a job, and noticed a portion of the photo was really bright, but just in a thick line. Confused, I shot another photo and another photo..still the same thing. I opened up my camera, only to find one of the shutter blinds had come loose. My 100,000 actuation rated camera(/shutter) finally gave in, at a mere 60k. I've been thinking of switching to Sony for the past few months, and have been drooling over the Sony a7iii for many reasons (especially video). I had it in the back of my mind that eventually I would sell this guy, and either get the Mark II (6d) or swap to Sony. I took it to my local camera repair shop, and had told myself if it was under $200 to fix, I'd go ahead and fix the shutter and still eventually sell it..my thought is that I'll be able to sell it for more if it's intact, instead of selling as-is and getting low-ball offers. I was quoted right at $195 to fix it, and he said it should last for however long it's rated for (again, 100,000 or so).

So..I told him yes. I'll play the waiting game while he gets the part shipped over and fixes it, but has anyone else had their shutter life ended? Did you fix it, or sell as-is? Or should I have just packed my bags for Sony and never looked back?

image.png

Photo originally published here, right after I bought it.

Sort:  

I’ve always shot Canon, but never had a shutter go on me. Maybe you just had bad luck.

Yeah, and I do love their photos. Video I'm unhappy with, but ideally I would have a Canon for my photography and a Sony for my videography. I shot a few family sessions with my Sony a6300, and while I know it is a cheaper camera than my 6d, I found myself missing my 6d more than I thought I would.

Oh no mate, sorry to hear that! I literally ordered a new Nikon D850 and lenses last week and plan on selling all my Canon gear. Nikon Australia gave me a deal I literally couldn't pass up.

I guess it depends on how much gear you have and how much your willing to take a loss on when your selling your gear. I'm seeing its harder to sell Canon gear these days now that a lot of people are moving to Sony etc.

Oooh nice, can't beat great deals! I have friends who love Nikon, but it seems like between Canon and Nikon it's whatever you grew up on you probably prefer.

That being said, Sony is killing the video game especially compared to Canon. As I mentioned in another comment, ideally I'd have a Canon for photos and a nice Sony for video..maybe when Steem peaks this Winter I can afford one ;)

Yeah you're right on that front!

hahaha thats right, hopefully it pumps like Christmas last year!

Hi @aweber!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.131 which ranks you at #3024 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 13 places in the last three days (old rank 3011).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #93.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83