Kegan Gel Photoshoot

in #photofeed6 years ago

Hey all, a few weeks ago I had a photoshoot with a friend in his barn, where I tested out a lot of my new gels for my flashes. I finished editing them all, and wanted to share my favorites with you! Kegan is a part-time model (cue Flight of the Conchords song), and we both wanted these photos for our portfolio/for fun. So, here goes.

Jello Boy
Kegan Gels-7.jpg

Two-Face
Kegan Gels-1.jpg

Lost In the Light
Kegan Gels-11.jpg

(Previously posted but probably my favorite)
Kegan Gels-12.jpg

Kegan Gels-5.jpg

Anyways, I'm curious to hear what you all think on these photos? I'm definitely not used to blending colors like this, but it was really fun! If you have any constructive criticism, let me hear it!

Sort:  

Super cool look @aweber! That first one is powerful feeling, I dig it.

Very cool 'two face' looks awesome, I've used a similar gel setup myself, first time I saw it done this way was the film 'comet' (by the dude who directs Mr Robot - Sam Esmail - and it's shot beautifully!) then it's got quite big the last couple of years with Baywatch using it and Riverdale using the crap out of it, but again, Riverdale looks friggin cool!

Thanks man! I watched the trailers for both of those movies. How was Comet? It looks like it could either be awesome or terrible (story wise) haha

Nice! I've never done gels with flash, but I use them with my practicals a lot. It's hard to do constructive criticism without knowing your intent. If you were going for low key, you nailed it! If not, perhaps play more with a fill light.
The red and blue you got goin on make a nice 3D effect!
Do you use lightroom much? I play around with the colors after I shoot the gels and make some fun color combos for totally different looks. ;)

Yeah, I only have gels that fit right into the flash, instead of on a modifier. I did the second to last one with a big umbrella (white) and then messed around in LR to get that red. Definitely made me think about using an umbrella for the main light, and then using actual gels for hair light etc and then adjusting in post. A new experience but definitely pretty fun!

Lighting in this is sick!

Thanks dude! I hope it starts feeling better soon.

Im a big fan of the lighting, awesome work!

Thanks yo!

I really like the first one, but "Lost in the Light" is by farrr my favorite! Weird, but your favorite is probably tied for my least favorite lololol

Haha, it's almost like we are different people! The Lost in the Light one I do like as well, but not my fave. We should do a shoot together with him.

Hmmm, that can't be right haha!

Ooh yeah, that's a good idea. I wish we could get into that old Franklinton house!

We could! Just probably wouldn't end up well for us.

I like how the red gel light hits the model's body in the first shot. Even though it's not "natural" light, it looks perfectly natural somehow, if that makes sense.

I can't offer criticism as I've never done this effect.

Your fav photo btw reminds me of a Star Trek character. :)

I think I know what you mean, you don't necessarily feel like the colored lighting is forced?

And haha! I can see a star trek vibe now that you say that. Now we just have to figure out what his character name is.

Captain Kirk of course :) A young version....maybe his son. hehehe....

Apakah cara ini termasuk fotografi strobis @aweber ?

Ya saya menggunakan gel berwarna pada flash off kamera saya

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-09T00:25:45
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 657.82/800.00
Total Photos: 87
Total comments: 54
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75