A Parting Shot - Across Canada, Day 10 of 92

in #photofeed6 years ago

DSC_0853Edit.jpg

A colourful scene in Riding Mountain National Park, Manitoba, where I spent a day exploring through the fall colours. As much as I liked Riding Mountain, I wasn't "feeling it" photographically, and had a tough time making interesting photos - this was possibly the best of the day, a simple composition based on colors and curves, with a crow cameo.

One of the primary objectives on this trip was to take a calendar-worthy photo in a National Park in each of the ten provinces and two of the territories. This put a lot of pressure on myself in Manitoba, where I struggled in the only easily accessible National Park: Riding Mountain. Having this goal in mind made me more focused and determined, but it lead to frustration when failing to find decent compositions, knowing I would have to stay longer or else come back another time. It was hard to decide whether I should spend another few days here and wait out the weather, or heed the call of the road.

My thoughts were filled with decisions like these every day of the trip - should I stay or should I go? WHERE should I go next? The flipside of having the freedom to plot my own course without being tied to a strict schedule is that it puts the responsibility on myself to be in the right place at the right time to take the best pictures possible. It's stressful, when I'm tired and have poor cell service, to sort through the endless variables (weather, distance, routes, location potential, direction of the sun, moon, etc) and make a decision, over and over again, all day, every day.

In this case I decided to leave, head West, and return to Riding Mountain much later (I didn't know it then, but there would be snow on the ground). I would miss the fall colours here, but at least I wouldn't waste time I could spend somewhere else. because there were fall colours in the Rockies, too, and I didn't want to miss that...

Sort:  

Sounds like a good trip I have been to every province but not the territories. Its snowing in Alberta today

Oh, nice!!! I wish it was snowing here...

I highly recommend getting up to the Yukon at least, if you can. There's something special about the north. :)

That's always a hard decision. Do you see 10 spots and get ok or good photos or do you focus on 2-3 and get the amazing shots you really wanted. There is no substitute for time when trying to get quality phtoos outdoors. I used to be much more manic and the 10 spot but now I am more tend towards the 3 spots. Sometimes the weather can make that decision for you however.

Same - I used to go for quantity, now I'm more patient to wait for quality, if I see the potential for it. And yes, it can be oddly relieving when the weather is bad if it removes the burden of decision-making from my shoulders for a little while! It's easy to get stressed and the forced interludes the weather provides are sometimes welcome. :)

Hi @derekkind!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.217 which ranks you at #2734 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 19 places in the last three days (old rank 2753).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 237 contributions, your post is ranked at #45.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87