Dynjandi Waterfall + 6 More

in #photofeed5 years ago

When I was on Iceland I saw many absolutely stunning waterfalls, this is one of them. Dynjandi waterfall is located on the Westfjörds of Iceland, like always you can see the exact location in @steemitworldmap comment. Driving there was a little bit rough, potholes and many smaller stones on the road. If you are traveling on Westfjörds then you can see that there is hardly any tarmac roads, 90% is gravel and 4 wheel drive car is advisable, especially in the winter. The day was absolutely beautiful as well so I did get some nice shots of the place.

This waterfall cascades 100 meters down and is 30 meters wide and widens to 60 meters at the bottom. Some people say its the most beautiful waterfall in Iceland. Out of about 20 waterfalls, I think I would give this a third place.

For a scale, look at the people at the bottom of the cliff, look how small they are compared to the waterfall.
DSC_0003.jpg.

Getting up there is kind of a hike. Not a long one but about 15-20 minutes. You start from below where you can see several smaller waterfalls that all have names. On my photos, you will see all of them. Enjoy!

DSC_0010.jpg


DSC_0011.jpg


DSC_0012.jpg


DSC_0013.jpg

And finally, the gem everybody wants to reach to, the Dynjandi waterfall.

DSC_0015.jpg


DSC_0019.jpg

View over the fjords wasn't bad either.

DSC_0016.jpg

Photos are not enough? I also have a video clip put together.

Overall this place was absolutely jaw-dropping. I am sure this wasn't the last time I was there.




Untitled4.png

Sort:  

recently I read an article about middle of the Iceland, a dark post-apocalyptic desert above constantly moving tectonic plates. A desert covered in a black sand or vulcanic dust, surrounded by many natural hot tubs filled with many colorful more or less dangerous liquids, gases and chemicals. And thousands of magnificent waterfalls, rivers, mountains, forests and lakes protecting humans from this dark land. It flamed my imagination and I am dying to explore this land. In which part of the year would you suggest to take a trip to the Iceland ? I do not like Summers in the West or South of the Europe, it is too warm for me. Perhaps July will be a good time then ?

Yeah, Iceland is truly amazing and by far the most stunning place I have ever traveled. Well, I was there in summer, the average temperature in July was around 13 degrees Celsius. What's best, there is no darkness, so you can explore in the night for example. Winter is the opposite, it's dark most of the time, only 4 or 5 hours of daylight. Of course, the weather might be hostile and many roads are closed that are open in the summer. Pros of going in winter are a strong chance to see northern lights and its cheaper there offseason. Going in summer will rape your wallet.

No darkness is well known for me from the Norway, my another beloved country, which I am exploring every summer. I've heard that Iceland can be expensive, but I am thinking about renting a solid Jeep and supply myself in one store and tank station for a trip into the wild, where I would spend few days. just man against the creepy and magnificent volcanic landscapes

Nice, I'm from Estonia so I'm no stranger to darkness either. Norway is too one of the destinations I want to explore but never visited so far. Your Iceland plan sounds really cool. I didn't drive with an offroad car so I was forbidden to go completely inland. I rented a camper van and circled all around the country.
This is the route I drove.

Screenshot_2018-07-07-13-46-33.png

WHAT A TRIP !!
could you write how much approximately you had to pay for your camper and how many days you reserve for this trip ? maybe you could recommend me some rental company. I feel, my friend, that you can be very helpful with planning my trip :)

Yes no problem. I used Happy campers rental. In the summer they charge 240EUR per day with full insurances. Without insurances its about 190eur per day and they offer no 4wd. Otherwise they are reallu goof rental company and offer many good advices on your trip.
I drove all this in 11 days. Did a lot of hiking and photographing but would have liked even more days to take more time in places.

It's amazing how powerful nature is and we don't realize it until we can see it with our own eyes. All that water running down is a little bit scary for me but thank God I'm safe, so no worries. That place is wonderful, especially the lake, although I guess the waterfall is the most liked attraction there. The lake looks so calm and peaceful.

There are so many places in Iceland that are absoutely stunning. Why scary tho ? :D

Because I know how powerful water can be :) Even standing under this waterfall could kill you easily. Water is wonderful, it's an element of life, we can't live without it, but we have to respect is as it can be dangerous :)

Yep, these are true words!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=greddyforce
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=dynjandi-waterfall-6-more


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #457.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Hi greddyforce,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Amazing photos! What time of the year did you visit Iceland?

Thank you. These photos were taken on 6th July.

Hermoso lugar

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85