An Unnamed Peak and Introverts

in #photofeed5 years ago (edited)

A stormy sunset up in a remote stretch of the North Thomson River. Summer seems such a long time ago now as we are in the grip of winter. We have not had any super cold (sub -30oC/-22oF) yet this season, although it did dip briefly down to -22oC (-7.6oF ) this past week. I took this shot while solo camping up along the North Thomson River last summer when the rest of the family was down in the US visiting some relativities. Sometimes you just need to get away from everything; or at least I do. To me isolation, both physical and mental, provokes a much deeper level of thought. Clearing out the noise creates room for creativity.

Studies show that introverts make up somewhere between one-third to half of the population. If you poll the average person on the street however they would think it much lower than that as introverts often appear on the surface to be extroverted after a lifetime of training from a social structure and school system that rewards extroverted behaviours. Such is the pervasiveness of these ideas that I even find myself getting frustrated at my own kids for displaying the same introverted behaviours. I can only rationalise this response as something akin to a lifelong case of Stockholm syndrome.

A Harvard Business Review study in 2017 that looked at 17,000 executives, found that more than half of the top CEOs who did better than expected in the minds of investors and directors were actually introverts (see here). This is not the outspoken image of a CEO we all think of when we think of business. INTJs alone account for 13% of management positions; yet only represent abiout 2% of the population. In contrast, political systems dominated by candidates who can speak the loudest tend to favour school and social systems that encourage extrovertism, this is despite the evidence that this does not necessarily make the best leaders and decision makers. Quiet reflective thought seems to be a lost art from a bygone era. It does not have to be this way; check out some of the work by Susan Cain about the Quiet Revolution.

Taken from the upper stretches of the North Thomson River, the peak in the photo actually lies in the North Eastern Section of Wells Gray Provincial Park. It sits at 2480m (8140ft) high and seems to be unnamed despite its obvious prominence lying between the Ojibwa NE4 and Metis Peak massifs. British Columbia, Canada

UpperNorthThomsonRiverPeak.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

nice!! Vote for my post please!!

This comment is nothing more than spam to get me to look at your blog. Looking at your comment history you regularly post the same comment. Don't you realize that this will never drive traffic to your blog and only make people less likely to view your work? Next time I will report you to steem cleaners.

Spam.gif

Thank @fireawaymarmot for this great gif!

Harsh but fair lol

Don't you just love that gif!

🏆 Hi @intrepidphotos! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @intrepidphotos :) | For investors.

Sometimes you just need to get away from everything; or at least I do. To me isolation, both physical and mental, provokes a much deeper level of thought. Clearing out the noise creates room for creativity.

Oh... Yes. At least once a year I do a solo trip. I love people but I need to dose the interactions 'just right' ;-) I'm one of those introverts that can really look forward to some outing/date/meet-up, and then be totally ecstatic when that gets called off :')

Gorgeous gorgeous photo, I looked at it quite a while. There's so much colour in it while that's maybe not the first thing you 'see'.

Thanks. I can totally understand that with respect to the outing. I love social interactions but I need time to "charge up" so to speak before them. I am glad you picked up the colour. The shot actually had a lot colour in a way that almost looked wrong (despite being true to what was happening). I had to back off the colour a little to make it a bit more subtle in line with what you would expect to see with the naked eye. It was just at sunset as the storm came over which is why there is the contrast with the lit warm clouds at the top and the deep blue clouds behind which are lit by the light passing though the storm.

Yes, my charging often comes the day after, when my batter is empty :')

Lovely setting you were in - thanks for the extra info, I can now totally imagine even more of the drama that was in the picture before your edit. This kind of more 'subdued' shots have my preference!

Hi @intrepidphotos!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.829 which ranks you at #1303 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 13 places in the last three days (old rank 1316).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 233 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You can only hope for your kids to figure out who they are and to be happy. Us parents are just along for the ride. I jest but beyond support and love you just have to let them figure it out. I know, I spent too much time trying to tell them how.

Yes for sure; they will be who they will be (with some guidance obviously) . I was more commenting on how strange it is that even I feel as a life long introvert that extroverted qualities are something to aspire to in my kids. When the results say that this is not necessarily a quality which drives better outcomes.

Yes. I understand. I would say you aspire to be more extroverted. We often project our aspirations onto our kids. Or another way to look at it is we don't want our kids to have the same difficulties in life we have had. But to your real point, we are all sucked into societies biases. Even when we know what they are, they are still powerful.

The funny thing is I don't think I do aspire to me more extroverted. If anything I aspire to head off into the wilderness with my family away from society. I spend a lot of my life having to be extroverted. I don't normally link my other work with my photography related life but I have managed clean-tech startup companies for the last 10 years with 20+ direct staff and constant capital raising requirements which involves a lot of promotional work. I guess I just want them to be able to have those skills as well. I would think it is easier to teach an introvert how to public speak then it is to teach an extrovert how to contemplate life alone in a cabin in the woods for a week. lol thats probably my own bias talking there but perhaps that's why they make better CEO's.

Nice shot of an impressive mountain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76