Chicago Sunset

in #photofeed6 years ago

I have been away traveling for work so have not had a chance to post up here on Steemit. I did manage to spend a flying visit to Chicago as I was transiting though this past weekend. Crammed a fair bit of the city in a very short amount of time and only got drenched with rain once. Some amazing architecture in the city. This shot is looking over Chicago river at sunset.

Historically the river flowed into Lake Michigan however due to increasing issues with the Chicago sewerage system flowing into the same lake that they drew drinking water from in 1900 an engineering project completely reversed the flow of the Main Stem and South Branch of the river using a series of canal locks such that it flowed into the Mississippi Valley river system.

Crazy backlog of photos just got longer . But it’s a nice problem to have.

ChicagoRiver.jpg

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

Great shot of the river and sunset! I love Chicago.

Thanks. Its a crazy city !

The sunset are variety magnificent

STUNNING!!!! I'm from chicago and I can vouch for how beautiful these sunsets are in the summer. This is one of the best Chicago sunset photos I've seen though.

Wow thanks for the complement.

Very nice shot, mate.

thanks. hope your well.

Wow.. what a beautiful sunset this is.
I like the way those buildings reflected the sunset!!

I am new to steemit, writing blogs about my photograph work!
Come visit me and look at my work.

Thank you!

Thanks.

I see you are new; you will soon find out that people don't take well to soliciting people to come and look at your work.

How kind you are ; )
followed!

Great work i love to do photography but can not do as you i am also new on steemit comment on my post if you like it and thanku for sharing this beautiful image.

Welcome to steemit ;-)

Wow Robert this is a gorgeous shot of Chicago it highlights its amazing architecture. I went on a super cool boat architecture tour.

I did not go on the boat tour but I did see them drifting past. They have some cool buildings there that is for sure.

this magnificent photo is so majestic with neatly lined buildings, filled with very beautiful lights.@intrepidphotos,☺️

Far out that is such a crisp photo with amazing colour. I take it you shoot in raw and edit using lightroom?

Thanks yes I shoot Raw and edit mostly in lightroom, sometimes in photoshop if I am layering different exposures.

Hey, great shot from Chicago! How'd you get that perspective?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77