Darling River Dreaming

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

DarlingRiver1.jpg

The lifeblood of the NSW outback, beautiful reflections along the Darling River belies the truth of a stagnant dying river. The result of both long term upstream drought and controversial water use policies, the Darling stopped flowing in 2016 south of Wilcannia and the once great Menindee Lakes dried up. Like sentinels from another age, the ancient Red River gums that line the banks are in many cases over 800 years old.

DarlingRiverDreaming.jpg

Kinchega National Park, Outback New South Wales, Australia.

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

unreal photos

Amazing photo, beautiful prose description. How long has the drought lasted?

It has been on and off for quite some time (decades). It's cyclical.

Just followed you, love your Photography. Here is a pic I took of the Sun Rise in La.

PS- Just followed you.

snap (68) 2.jpg

This picture makes me feel kind of scared. It's not like real world.

I agree - it seems almost unreal, but also a picture of a dying world. I pray the rains return.

They come and go. The issue is land use management to deal with the cyclical nature..

Kinda reminds me of the opening of the tv show, "The Dark Side". Always enjoyed those scary TV Shows as a kid. They were Really Fun to watch...

It's real world sadly.

Amazing photos! How long have you been to Australia and what was your highlights there? I want to go there next year and a lot of people told me, that the West Coast should be way more beautiful than the East Coast, do you agree with that? :)

I am Australian so I have spent most of my life there. The west coast and east coast are both beautiful. The west coast is more harsh and remote and perhaps fits with people stereotypes of Australia a little more as the 'Outback' comes right up to the coast. The east coast is amazing however and has lush coastal mountains covered in rain-forest with the reef and amazing coastline etc. You are talking about a whole continent so its hard to generalize. I would not say one coast is more beautiful than another. The South Coast is amazing also.

Alright, thank you for your detailled answer! I' ll probably need a few month when I'm going to travel Australia, because I want to see both East and West Coast and Tasmania as well :D

Sounds like 6 months ;-)

I thought about 3 month ;)

East and West Coasts plus Tassie is a lot to see in 3 months but that said its a reasonable amount of time so you can see a fair bit. It all depends how much of the respective coasts you want to see and if you plan to fly between them or drive across the south of the country (and take the ferry to tassie) to connect all three. With a large country like Australia its always a balance between how much driving you want to do to tick off the bigger bucket list items vs exploring the smaller places off the highways where the real beauty often lies.

That is true for most countries. I think you can spent two years in the USA and still haven't seen half of it..
I think Australia has also an incredible amount of wonderful places to discover.. Damn I need more time and money :D

Yes. I think we could all do with some more time and money ! Australia is a similar size to lower 48 states of the US so its a good analogy.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Fantastic photography.

You are a amazing photographer.

A lot of man's actions makes me so upset

Congratulations! Your image was just posted as a winning one for the daily 7 World's Continent Photo Challenge. See if you can attend the post and answer some of the congratulation comments for your increased engagement. Thank you and have a great day. Tomas

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – North American Friday week #37 – winner announcement!

Wow thanks ! Very kind of you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77