Mount Assiniboine from Nub Peak

in #photofeed6 years ago

“The world is big and I want to have a good look at it before it gets dark.” John Muir

One of the more amazing places I have seen lately. Taken at sunset after scrambling up the ridge to Nub Peak (2,755 m or 9,039 ft). I like the perspective up here as Mount Assiniboine (3,618m or 11,870ft) rightfully towers over Sunburst Peak in the foreground which you don’t appreciate at the nublet far below. A rare shot of me. Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park, British Columbia, Canada

NubPeakAssiniboineSunset.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

I'm glad you were in there for some scale. They look like some pretty grand mountains (though that's not saying much as I generally think all mountains are pretty and grand), with something of known size in the picture (even though humans can vary greatly) it really gives a better idea of scale :)

Also, that composition looks pretty magical. It should totally be a book cover.

awesome mountains and very good shot!:)

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

Great shot. to be in amidst those gorgeous mountains!

Yes its always amazing being up in the mountains.

Man, what stunning scenery! Great shot.

Is it enough are words in this post according to your criteria, in order to use the tag photofeed? Although the photo is definitely chic!

Hi. I will let photofeed respond but there is no word limit as far as I am aware for photofeed. Travelfeed on the other hand is more of a travel blog and they have a word limit.

We don't require any words to be included in a post!

Wow, awesome shot and an amazing scenery there!

Thanks ! It is amazing up there.

Incredible view!

Great composition and exposure, a world class photography. Well done! I just get back from a trip in mountains in my country, but they are not so breathtaking as this view...

Thanks. It is a special part of the world around Mt Assiniboine.

Yeah It's bit far for me to get there, but maybe somewhere close to my country, like Austria, should have something closer to the one that you have been. Do you postprocess your images? Is it Lightroom only or Photoshop + Lightroom?

I use Lightroom mostly but occasionally use photoshop. Lots of beautiful places in the European alps.

Occasionally Photoshop? Wow, you must be great at Lightroom then, a great processing there! Again, well done :)

Most shots like this one just take some working in Lightroom and don't need a lot done to them. Lightroom is quite powerful once you are used to using it. I only really use photoshop for luminosity masking if I have a complex shot where the dynamic range is out and I need to recover the highlights (on a waterfall in the sun for example or layering a sun star from some brackets of the sun). I also use smart object in photoshop a little for noise reduction.

Yea I believe I use a bit more Photoshop because of a genre I'm working mostly (Portrait). Skin correction are pretty much super hard to tackle anywhere else. I also use smart object, but more for a shape correction or... adding noise :) Nowadays this "analogue" feel works quite ok for portraits, but I believe not that much in landscape (yet can't tell exactly as I'm not an expert in that field).

However instead of Lightroom (which personally I don't like that much) I use Capture One. It was pretty annoying to switch at very beginning, but nowadays I love how it help me with what I want to achieve. Yet I believe main features like awesome Tethering is not that useful for landscape photography. Have you tried it already? (It's on 30day trial, but it's bit more expensive than Lightroom in general).

I have not tried Capture One; the workflow in Lightroom has worked well for me and what I need so I have not looked around much. Tethering perhaps is not so practical for me as I shoot out in the field. I used to shoot slide film for many years so I was reluctantly brought into editing and like to have more of a minimalist editing style where possible. Obviously things like astrophotography require a lot more post work than daytime shots.

I don't think I have ever edited for skin tone ;-) . I could probably learn a few things there but I don't shoot a lot of portraits although I am hoping to post more.

Awesome shot! I like how you introduce the human figure👏👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75