Leaning into the WindsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photofeed5 years ago (edited)

A week earlier, I would have stated that I like mighty gusts, rain and hail. Right now, I am no longer sure of it. I am walking on the damp and sticky greyish sand towards the shallow cave-like formation where I can take shelter from the elements. My boots are soaked with icy water, and though the weather is a bitch, it was my fault for standing on the shoreline, looking through the camera's viewfinder.

Having reached the only windless area in the vicinity, I turn around in time to see another man's suffering.

P1170890.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Great photo, especially with that poor soul off in the distance. That's some crazy geography, there. What kind of stone is that?

Taking photos in a hailstorm actually sounds more enjoyable than homework.

Thank you, Mark :) I have clue about the stone, but its shape reminds me the tubes of a gigantic pipe organ.

Apart from homework, what are you up to? How's life in Mankato? :)

It does sort of look like a pipe organ! There's not a whole lot going on here, other than trying to get through this semester. The next one will be a little more stressful, as I've got to finish off my capstone project on top of everything else. It will be nice to be done, though.

How have things been for you? It's been awhile since your last post. Have you been doing any traveling?

What are you writing about for your capstone project?

Things are alright :) I haven't traveled much since I have been focused on my job, but I am planing on visiting a few places early next year.

Any plans on returning to Iceland? I suppose winter wouldn't be the best time to visit, unless you are well prepared.

This program has a portfolio for the capstone, so it's a bit of all the work I've done for classes, summaries of each class and what I learned, and an overview of the program.

I think Iceland is worth visiting during wintertime, and I will probably do it at some point in the future :)

Okay, and are you done with your studies once you complete this project? Does it take 2 semesters to complete it?

The way things are looking at the moment, I should be completely finished with the degree this May and definitely looking forward to not being a student again. The first part of this next semester will be really busy.

Iceland in the winter sounds cold. It would be a great place to get some photos, especially with the ship (and plane) wrecks in the snow and ice, but would definitely require a lot of preparation. I bet the astrophotography would be spectacular in the winter, there.

What a great shot. I love cliffs and rocks so this is sort of a treat and because you mentioned the nasty weather, I won't ask if it was possible to climb this one :D

Thank you, Tezmel :) I doubt many people climbed this one - most natural formations in Iceland are protected by a nature conservation act. In other words, you can get a huge fine if you attempt to climb this cliff :)

At least there's a system in place to protect nature there :)

Boo! ^_^

Hey, Ema! I knew you were lurking around here somewhere :D
What's up?

Hey!

Nah, I haven't been lurking...

That was actually the first time I logged in in months! I am doing great and hope you are too. Not sure I am coming back here though :) I will check in from time to time though...^_^

Hey! I am doing well :) What's the reason you are not coming back? That saddens me a bit - you were/are one of the coolest kids on the block(chain).

Cognitive shifting :)

It takes a while to bounce back naturally. I don't want to exert more effort than I would normally do.

I am glad that you are doing well and that you are (hopefully) in a better place! ^_^

Great photo! Showing us that we humans are so insignificant in comparison to the greatness of nature. Amazing composition!

STUNNING image. So powerful. Wouldn't have been the same without your fellow sufferer. What an adventure. Hope you don't suffer from chilblains on your toes?

Great to see you here again Daniel. My upvote is virtually useless as I've spent most of my Steem and have been away for so long. So here's a little !tip for you. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thank you, Ally! I managed to survive without any chilblains, but I had to take my shoes off afterward while driving the car so that the heating can warm up my feet.

Likewise, it's great to see you again :) Though, it looks like quite a few of my friends on Steemit have disappeared.

What have you been up to in the past few months?

Oh what a question.

I've been loving Steemit more than ever since working with the DeepDreamGenerator lured me away. Having seen the extremes of what people are doing with this program, I've refined my own process by just giving my images the slightest of enhansement. And it took me about 6 months to learn that. 😊 Always been on the slow side.

Loving #WednesdayWalk and #PhotoShadow ~ Mainly work with those two 'challenges' now ~ That's about all I have time for.

Interested in the new @homesteaderscoop and wish to apply to join them and produce my own range of products made with recycled paper ~ Made from paper, hemp off-cuts and kombucha.

At the moment creating an article for The Blocktrades Scholarship Contest so have to go. But looking forward to seeing more of what you've been up to.

PS. Hope all those friends who have disappeared will return and feel something akin to what I've been feeling. That regardless of the value of Steem, Steemit is a wonderful place to stay connected. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

PS. Hope all those friends who have disappeared will return and feel something akin to what I've been feeling. That regardless of the value of Steem, Steemit is a wonderful place to stay connected.

Considering the recent developments, we may have to find another place to stay connected. I am in fact using eSteem Surfer, which seems to look and work great!

I just checked the Deep Dream Generator, isn't it an AI algorithm that paints over your photo? :) I am not sure it's my kind of thing :D

I'll see you around, Ally!

Hope so Daniel.

Yes DDG is based on AI algorithms and sort of 'paints over your image.

More like it adapts your image to the Style you want it to be. Say you want your b&w landscape to look like a Van Gogh painting ~ You would 'overlay' your landscape with a VG painting (which could be flowers or a chair as you are more interested in the Style ~ colours/textures etc.)

It's easy to do but there are so many ways of varying the intensity of the Style (which becomes such a time spinner.) I'm happy I learnt how to use it effectively but tend to agree with you. Your photography is GREAT as is.

I haven't looked at eSteem yet ~ Is it complex? Would hate to lose touch with you. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Hey, I am not going anywhere :) Although I am not be posting that often, I am online every day. eSteem is not complex at all - it's just has a slightly different interface.

SO good to hear Daniel. Both that you're 'not going anywhere' and that eSteem is not all that complex. Will have a look at it as soon as I can. I figure if I can master the DDG and share2steem and SteemPress I should be able to get my head around eSteem too. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

At least you guys weren't struggling alone, and in worst case could have fought the nasty weather together... Spectacular. It's almost as if he's preparing himself to push over those rocks.

At least you guys weren't struggling alone, and in worst case could have fought the nasty weather together... Spectacular.

Thank you, Rosanne, but that was of little comfort to me back then 😁

By the way, I followed your example and bought some Steem last weekend. If the price drops below $0.30, I'll buy even more.

YES! Great decision @irreverent-dan - these are times I believe we won't see back 'soon' or hopefully 'ever' again, so get those STEEMs now they're cheap!

I hope you are right. One thing that worries me, however, is the exponential increase in the circulating Steem supply after the drop in price.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17