A Most Incredible View

in #photofeed5 years ago

This was my scariest photo shoot ever. I was standing on the edge crouching with legs braced front to back while having a death grip on the tripod. It was very windy with big gust's sneaking up from behind without notice threatening to blow me over this 600 foot cliff. I was so relieved when I finished shooting retreating to safety.
There's an old saying that states "nothing ventured nothing gained". But I have to say after all that, this was one of the most incredible views I have ever seen.
This image is being entered in @czechglobalhosts/7-world-s-continents-photo-challenge-north-american-friday-week-63

horseshoe bend 7x8.jpg

This shot of Horseshoe Bend and the Colorado River is located in northern Arizona USA.

Sort:  

One of your best photos

That's something I don't hear very often. Thank you!

That's quite a shot and it was quite an adventure as well. Definitely a bit scary how steep it is there! And I remember the wind now that you mention it.. Definitely a bit unnerving, though.. What an amazing spot, I definitely hope to go back there some day and to film again.
Good luck in the contest!

Yes it was one of many wonderful photography excursions we have had together and most memorable. It was stunning to see! Thanks!

Вы правы!
Чтобы поймать рыбу, надо иметь наживку!!

I don't know what you say.

nice post and amazing photography

wow it's very very very nice photography
great post my dear friend @irvinesimages

Thank you again, very very very much!

Definitely looks like it would have been scary! I appreciate your breathtaking photography skills, as always, beautiful shot!!!

It's nice to hear that from you. Thank you!

This is an amazing spot! I've seen several different versions of this, but i like yours alot!

That's good to here, I appreciate the compliment. I wish I would have had a wider lens at the time. But oh well. Thanks Jason.

Can I ask what lens was used here? I’m going to guess 28mm?

This was shot with a Pentax 6x7 medium format using a 55-100 mm F-4 zoom lens. It's very close to being 28 mm equivalent. Also the frame ratio is 5-4 compared to 3-2 on the 35 mm. Thanks for asking!

Very nice view

Yes very nice indeed.

You are absolutely right. It's the most incredible shot you have captured. The canal is rounding the rocks and anyone can be amazed when they stand on the rock and enjoy this amazing scenery.

This is very old, four to six million years and is the beginning of the Grand Canyon. Thank you!

Your description gave me the chills. How thrilling and scary! Gorgeous shot!

Thanks for expressing your reaction so well, and for the nice compliment. I think the thrill and scare were almost equal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85