Courthouse Full Moon

in #photofeed6 years ago

It was the late ninety's when I first entered the photography fine art print market and for me the catalyst was the advent of Hale-Bopp Comet. The thought of photographing it filled me with ambition and inspiration. I was a carpenter at the time so after working a full day doing construction, I would venture out into the desert night armed with a camera and excitement to capture images of the amazing Hale-Bopp Comet above Sedona Arizona's majestic landscapes. I went out almost every night for about three weeks and after a short learning curve ended up with a wonderful collection of photos. This was enough to get my work into numerous local businesses selling my photo products.

So as time went on it didn't take me long to figure out that Hale-Bopp was kind of like a fad and that its popularity would in time fade. Basically if I wanted to stay in business the next thing I had to do was get beautiful, marketable images of Sedona and the southwest.

I had the idea that landscapes with full moons would be quite appealing, so I set out to find out through experimentation. I started working with double exposures using full moons. This was done by opening the shutter once to capture the landscape and then again at night to expose the moon in a select spot on the landscape. This was done on film and is a little tricky.

Today's image Courthouse Full Moon was one of my first successful attempts at this. It was one of my best selling images for a couple of years until the lab scratched and ruined the negative. So a few days ago I scanned the neg and did a digital repair of the scratches and to my delight I have revived this fine image after many years.

courthouse moon 7x10.jpg

Sort:  

Nice double exposure! It's great you were able to repair it. And I liked what you had to say as well. I think it helps people get more of an idea of where you're coming from and your history and who you are. Thanks for sharing.

Hey thanks paul, I was happy to fix it. I would like to write more but time is limited.

A spectacular photograph...!
Not only is he good as a photographer but also writing, I congratulate him! I like your blog, your photos and writings are special. I love photography and also reading, I find its history interesting. I wish you many successes Mr. Michael. Regards

You are very kind and generous with your words and I thank you much for that, also best wishes and success to you. Have a great week.

Wow wonder that you share with us that spectacular moon an epic image I congratulate you for making such excellent photos.

I'm glad you like the moon photos. The moon gives balance to our seasons. Thanks for all compliments.

This is great! I like how you shared a bit of you the person and how this particulae image was revived!!! It's beautiful😄

Yes I'm going to work on doing more stories like I did today. Thanks for the nice compliment!

What a moon!

I guess its another beauty.

It is a very beautiful image.

Wow! such a impressive shot. Beautiful moon on the red rocks...most rare and most beautiful view i have ever seen. I appreciate your great creativity.

Wow that's quite a gracious statement, thanks for a most wonderful comment.

wow, i need to make it down there so you can show me some things! i am a beginner so getting a shot like this is just a dream. wake up dorothy! LOL! :)

That would be great! Dry weather gives us lackluster colors so the summer monsoon season is the most advantageous for photographs. It is all about being at the right place at the right time. Thanks I like the OZ effect.

yeah i know!! a sedona meetup whaaa that would be sweet. but i would never impose myself on your great talents. :) i was really just joking. i do that. though inside i would really love to learn from a pro as yourself. especially one so kind. thanks for understanding the OZ effect. LOL

Your very welcome.

@irvinesimages hope all is well and whomever wins your photo is one lucky person! tears that i didn't get it!

What a fantastic photo! I'm so glad you were able to repair it; you must have felt sick to your stomach when the lab scratched it! UGH!!

Reading through the comments, I see I'm not the only one to feel this way, but it was so nice learning more about you and seeing a write-up with this photo. Thanks for sharing :)

Sick to my stomach yes exactly and it was a big problem. But then along came the digital age just in time, printing from digital files instead of shining light through the film each time. What a relief it was. I will try to find time to do more writing in the future. Thank you!

Wow! The story of biography is remarkable. Salute! What a wonderful photography about the full moon and very artistic. Fantastic!

Thanks for reading it and Salute to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00