Historic Comet Hale-Bopp "Color Version"

in #photofeed6 years ago

The comet was discovered independently on July 23, 1995, by two observers, Alan Hale and Thomas Bopp, both in the United States.
Hale had spent many hundreds of hours searching for comets without success, and was tracking known comets from his driveway in New Mexico when he chanced upon Hale–Bopp just after midnight.

Bopp did not own a telescope. He was out with friends near Stanfield, Arizona, observing star clusters and galaxies when he chanced across the comet while at the eyepiece of his friend's telescope. He realized he might have spotted something new when, like Hale, he checked his star maps to determine if any other deep-sky objects were known to be near M70, and found that there were none. He alerted the Central Bureau for Astronomical Telegrams through a Western Union telegram. Brian G. Marsden, who had run the bureau since 1968, laughed, "Nobody sends telegrams anymore. I mean, by the time that telegram got here, Alan Hale had already e-mailed us three times with updated coordinates."[

The following morning, it was confirmed that this was a new comet, and it was given the designation C/1995 O1. The discovery was announced in International Astronomical Union circular 6187.

hb city lights 7x10.jpg

Comet Hale–Bopp (formally designated C/1995 O1) is a comet that was perhaps the most widely observed of the 20th century, and one of the brightest seen for many decades. Wikipedia-source.

I thought the color version deserved it's own post' please enjoy this piece of history from April 1997.

Sort:  

Wow! This color shot is looking amazing but black and white are always immortal.

I agree totally and could not say it better, good job. thanks!

i think this is better then the black and white

I'll second that!

I guess we have that settled, thanks!

I like the two different effects but prefer the color also.

Very beautiful photos!
All men are ??

I like the music, thanks for sharing it.

Hello @irvinesimages, thanks for illustrating us on the subject, the photo is spectacular, that pretty, very cute.
Blessings:)

Hello Martha and greetings! This was a long time ago but the wonder and fascination of it is still fresh in my mind. It's good to hear your reaction, thank you!

I prefer the colour to the black and white! What incredible timing and setup, such a great capture

I agree, thanks for checking it out and giving a nice compliment!

It's wonderful night photography.You will receive prizes of the year.

Wow' I hope your right, thanks for your wonderful and optimistic words!

I so like your hand click.
how possible this sky light?

It's all part of a creative universe that we are fortunate to be able to observe. simply thanks!

The comet was discovered independently on July 23, 1995, by two observers, Alan Hale and Thomas Bopp

Ahhh! So that's why it was called Hale Bopp.. Makes a lot more sense now!

What a cool shot and piece of history! I haven't looked around to see the other shots of Hale Bopp but I imagine you probably got some of the best! You did a great job going out and getting a whole different variety of images and I look forward to seeing the ones you told me about the other day on that one night hike you did.

Thanks Paul I'm looking forward to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86