Sinagua Indian Petroglyphs

in #photofeed6 years ago

Somewhere back in time from around 600ad to 1400ad these native people when not out gathering food, stood in the shadows of stone walls chipping through the patina on the stone to create symbols and pictures of their culture. The small green patches in the image are a natural lichen that grows on the sandstone. This Sinagua Indian rock art is located in red tank draw, just outside Sedona Arizona.

red tank draw 7x4.jpg

Sort:  

Cool! That's a spot I still want to film that I haven't yet. And.. Some really unique and interesting artwork! The one on the left makes me think a lizard! But the one on the right?! I dunno.. Maybe a centipede? And the top symbol sort of looks like a candelabra. But I really doubt that's what it was suppose to be.. Maybe a plant, like a yucca? I dunno. Interesting though! Thanks for sharing!

I know, Its a lot of fun photographing rock art and this area has good stuff. I thought lizard also, and maybe some plant or spiritual symbol.

Our story is very interesting, I like old things. I visited a cave a few years ago that is on a famous beach in the country and there were figures and letters carved on the walls. We do not know what they mean. Thanks for sharing beautiful images.

I think this is how they told their story but it was with limited expression. And in part this is why the rock art is enigmatic. Its the absence of a written language. Thanks for your story!

Beautiful, show culture by symbol. Thanks @irvinesimages

Beautiful indeed! Thank you.

They may be or were more aware of the future than we are. They knew that many generations would see their art and teachings.

I think your right but would add that life was more predictable because of a slow rate of change. And yes it seems they wanted the future looking back at them.

It is very interesting that Indian rock art that you show us today that drawing some hidden message must have but as we do not know let's enjoy it

I agree lets just enjoy it. Thanks!

Just amazing! Perfect art....i also appreciate your beautiful photography.

Hey thank you, I'm glad to show it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75