After the storm - night in NYC

in #photofeed6 years ago

I was inside the office when NYC experienced a massive storm yesterday, apparently outside the city there was a risk of tornados. Crazy. Some photographers managed to get some great shots of the city from Brooklyn with the massive storm clouds overhead. I don't think people would have appreciated me leaving the meeting to go take pictures, so you're stuck with my shots from after the storm.

4B732B76-6E5E-44A8-A377-41770D2AC792.JPG

The benefit of a storm in NYC is all of the reflections! I usually stay in lower Manhattan, but this time I'm in Midtown - lucky me, as the shots are probably better.

9A8D2886-23E0-4BCD-B6EB-68230557A53E.JPG

Interestingly Consensus 2018 is happening right across the street from my hotel. So there are crypto name tags everywhere. It reminds me a lot of the .com boom. So many people trying to make it, companies with hilarious names, and I'd bet that in a few years we'll see only 1/6th of those companies still around. The other side of this is that some of the companies will be bagillion dollar organizations. Pandora's box has been opened - I'm interested to see where it'll all go. Hopefully steemit (or a similar service) will be one of those still around when it all shakes out.

Snoop apparently played the XRP party.....(eye roll)

8708FC1E-51FE-4FE0-A506-E21A8ACD1633.JPG

I'm going to try to get some more shots, as long as the weather cooperates...and I can get out of the office.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-16T14:40:09
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1524.97/1600.00
Total Photos: 179
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 0.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

rain really helps in night city photography. great photos.

So much so. I wish I had my big camera on this trip.

such beautiful night scenes. love this amount of reflections.

Thanks much!

The reflections from the water puddles look really nice. Great shots you have there, @jfolkmann. Love the last one the most!

Wow. Your end of the storm looks beautiful. The video I saw of the beginning not so much.

It's really cool that you are right across the street from consensus. Just share the insider information with me, OK?

Thanks for the glorious photos.

I just hit 'post' and it struck me: You are a regular in NYC, right? Are you more Canadian or NYC when you are there? I mean, like, do you say "Excuse me a&&hole" or anything like that? Just wonderin'

Still more Canadian. I stand and hold doors for 4 hours....

Stunning work! I love the mood of a city after a big storm :)

After spending 4 years in New York, I still miss it so much..and these shots capture the city after a bunch of rain perfectly. Those reflections are gorgeous and I appreciate that these shots don’t try to hide the urban style of the streets/scaffolding etc...Great work!

I like taking shots after the rain. Makes everything kinda glowy :)

Looks like something out of a movie! Plus I didn't know you are a New Yorker.

Not a New Yorker - I'm Canadian:) I just come here a ton on business.

Great photos, @jfolkmann the world traveller!

NY and LA for work a lot. Don't get to get out much though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93