Black & White Japan

in #photofeed6 years ago

My few months on Steemit have been great for my photography hobby. For some reason it’s made me more experimental than being on instagram or any other service I’ve used in the past. This means trying out everything from my normal landscape photos, to portraits….and also black and white photography.

Black and white isn’t usually something I consider – but there were some photos from my trip to Japan that just looked better that way.

Takin' care of business

A monk or priest - or I'm sure there's another name for the rank, but he looked important wandering through the buildings of the Fushimi Inari Shrine. Even though most people are there just to take picture of the orange tori gates - it's a good reminder that it's a working religious campus. If you keep your eyes peeled in places like this there's a ton of photographic opportunities that aren't exactly what everyone else is taking.

IMG_4008.jpg

The side streets of Kyoto

There's no end to the great opportunities for pictures in the side streets of Kyoto. There's just so much going on in this picture that it felt better in black and white - allowed it to breathe and focus a bit. I shot these two women having a conversation and meandering through the side streets - trying to get clear shots wasn't easy since the streets are so busy. If you're ever in Kyoto -I'd spare at least a day, just to wander.

IMG_3972.jpg

Kyoto station

The outside of Kyoto station is just as interesting as the inside. Each facade an engineering marvel and a photographic gem. I've shown in other photos other aspects of the station, but I loved these external staircases. I wish i could have found a side vantage point...but the up-shot will have to do. You can find them by going all the way through the station. Behind the spot where I took this photo are the tracks.

IMG_3799.jpg

Also in Kyoto station is this piece of art. They're painted a pastel colour, but this area is almost always in shade so trying to capture why my eye was seeing was impossible. In black and white however they look almost like the old water towers used for steam trains (Steem train!). Come to think of it - that must be what the art is. What do you think?

IMG_3783.jpg

Colour is a powerful vehicle for photography, but there's something about black and white that really allows you to focus on composition. It helps to highlight the key features without complication.

I hope you enjoyed my experiment.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Thank you travel feed!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-11T16:15:30
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1498.97/1600.00
Total Photos: 175
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I like your pictures.. I also find Japan as amazing country with temples and live streets..

So much fun to visit.

Great photos of your visit. I really like the photo of the man at the Fushimi Inari Shrine, makes me start to come up with his own back story and want to learn more.

My few months on Steemit have been great for my photography hobby. For some reason it’s made me more experimental than being on instagram or any other service I’ve used in the past. This means trying out everything from my normal landscape photos, to portraits….and also black and white photography.

I completely agree! I've been here a few months myself and I'm noticing I'm much more inclined to go to newer places and try things that I haven't before, one of the great things about Steemit! Great post, keep it up!

Thank you! Yeah - it's a crazy thing this steemit. I've tried blogging before - but somehow this is sticking more than that.

Wowie those are good. I think the staircases is gallery grade. The priest (what ever his grade) is terrific as are the women on the side street.

The towers is really a good photo, and I get the b&w. But your allowing that they were pastel is somehow discordant for me. Maybe that's what makes it so good.

Thank you.

Thanks muchly! I don't know about gallery...but I like em'

Some photos look much better in B&W. You choose the right ones for this compilation.

Thanks muchly! I agree - I find it tough to pick sometimes.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

side vantage point of that stairs could be really interesting photo.

Would be nice to get up that high....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86