Photography experiments at night

in #photofeed6 years ago

Last night when everyone was in bed, I wasn't quite ready to sleep yet so I decided to sneak out and take some pictures. Sometimes it's tough for me to get the motivation to go out at night...but I forced myself. And then after all that, unfortunately I forgot my tripod. So instead of turning around and heading back I decided to get a bit experimental with some night photography.

There's a particular hill that overlooks the downtown core in Calgary - and it was a warm night so I thought this would be the place to go.

DSC00157.jpg

It's more artistic than I usually get - but I think the photos turned out pretty well. It was fun to play with the light and long exposures.

DSC00165.jpg

And one more that's more typical of the kind of night photography I've been taking.

DSC00174.jpg

I really should get out more at night, but the days are getting longer - and soon it's going to be almost impossible to get any darkness at all until after midnight. At that point I turn into a pumpkin.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-13T14:11:15
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1511.97/1600.00
Total Photos: 177
Total comments: 110
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 1.36 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

interesting photos !!! very nice :)

I particularly like the second photo. I think we could say that our cities have a lot of light pollution or they are high in 'visual noise', and playing with exposure really captures that.

funny idea! hope you slept well afterwards :D

Great, the second looks like an electrocardiogram, I like your job.

Nice usage of the word Artistic, but to be honest, I don't get a hang of the first photo, the second one I really LOVE, the third is what everybody does, so not that special I think ... and I would love to see a photo of you after midnight :joy:

Perfect winter projects! :D One of my colleagues had been doing a night project as well and simply takes off from his project in the summer. Cool stuff!

Way to stick it out even after forgetting a piece of equipment (:
I think the first image is my favorite, closely followed by the second!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11