Revisiting Old Favourites

in #photofeed5 years ago

With my last couple of posts being about new compositions in Melbourne, I was struck with a desire to revisit one of my favourite photos and compare the differences in how I approach a well known scene. The results are very surprising...

The location was a bridge overlooking Batman Ave and the city buildings. A great place for car trails and a cityscape.

_STO5358-1.jpg

Camera Settings


Canon 5D MKIII
16mm
F11
a few stacked exposures for light trails and highlights
ISO50

The absolutely CRAZY thing about this is the composition matches exactly to the shot I took years ago. I spent a while moving around here lining things up to get everything the way I wanted, so light poles weren't blocking the buildings and the road drew the eye into the city. I tried several spots and finally decided this one worked. It wasn't until I got home and had a closer look at my previous image that I realised I must have had my tripod and camera in the same place. Not just close, but EXACT.

KieranStone069.jpg

They were taken with a different lens and a different crop, but the poles in the middle of the tram lines line up to the background buildings the same in both images. Even shifting the tripod legs a few inches makes a difference here and also moving the camera up or down. There isn't a level railing here on the bridge either so you need to rest a tripod leg in a weird spot to avoid getting the bridge in the frame.

1.jpg
2.jpg
note the pole going between the "H" and "E" in the centre, and the closer pole's antennae resting against the background building

SO. FRIGGIN. WEIRD.

I still like the newer one (top image). It's cleaner and has a better mood than my original shot.


Intro Post
Website kieranstone.com
Instagram @kieranstoneau
Facebook Kieran Stone


Sort:  

This is really cool, amazing that you got it so close. I also prefer the new photo.

Thanks! I'm still flabergasted

Congratulations @kieranstone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Classic Kieran! Resteemed. :D

Thanks so much guys!

Nice. How often do you head out to shoot the city ? Despite the same composition they are very different shots ; both work well.

More in recent days as the sunset is later and I can get out. I've got a few more places to redo and some more places to try for the first time

If you got the same spot twice it was obviously the best spot for that photo XD

That's what I'm telling myself ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77