Morning on the Mountain, Washington State (album)

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Morning on the Mountain


Part two of my previous blog, Night on the Mountain. After some typical month-long grey weather up here in Washington (and some sun in the forecast), my friend @natebillings and I decided to head into the wilderness for an evening. It was definitely what we needed and we were treated to an amazing sunrise..

231.jpg

SteemitMornTowns2.jpg

The night was pretty dang cold. We didn't really want to get out of the sleeping bags but you can't really get the shot if you're still in the tent. Although, the view from our bedroom wasn't half-bad..

SteemitMornTowns3.jpg

After willing ourselves up, boots on and jackets zipped up to our noses, we headed away from the campsite. The sunrise was awesome. Crystal clear, a slight cloud inversion over the sound, and light rays everywhere. No complaints here!

SteemitMornTowns7.jpg

You could see every volcano in Washington on this morning, but I chose to focus on the most famous of them.. Mount Rainier. At over 14,000 feet tall, it's one of the largest mountains in the lower 48 states. It's a beautiful place to visit in the summer. Wildflowers everywhere and perfect weather!

SteemitMornTowns5.jpg

After sunrise, we headed back down to the tent. Ate a quick breakfast and started packing things up.

SteemitMornTowns6.jpg

SteemitTownsend8.jpg

The light stayed nice for a while. Caught a little bit of it playing on this ridge, definitely had to snap a quick photo. Unfortunately I was on a time constraint and had to be back in Seattle, so we left shortly after. Next time..

SteemitTownsend9.jpg

We started the hike down, stopping here and there to take in the occasional view. Didn't take us too long before we were back at the truck and on the way to the ferry.

I plan on returning to this hike in wildflower season, which is quite spectacular here in Washington. Counting down the days for that. I'll make sure to budget some more time for my return trip.

If you missed the first blog, you can find it here. The hike is Mount Townsend, on the Olympic peninsula. Thanks for reading! Hope you all can get out there soon.

-Nathaniel

Sort:  

Amazing photo
Thanks for sharing

Wow. Great photos and stunning view! Now this is what I call a 5 star accomodation. Easily beats any fancy hotel. What I'd give to wake up to that kind of scenery!

Thank you! It was an amazing place to spend the night. I much prefer a room like this one. Much cheaper, too :)

Yes, cheaper and an experience like no other. But living in a tropical country my whole life, I dont think I can handle the cold night yet. Haha.

Fantastic pictures. I grew up in Maple Valley. I've been living in Japan for the last 15 years, but I try and get back to the PNW every few years or so. It's hard to beat the beautiful nature in WA.

Thanks Steve! Japan doesn't seem like a bad alternative. I haven't been, personally, but from what I've seen it looks amazing over there. The northwest is definitely something special. So glad I'm here

I think you would like it over here. A lot of the coastline and mountains look very similar to the PNW in many ways. Of course they were formed by many of the same geological forces, so it makes sense. Seeing bamboo and the occasionally wild monkey mixed in the with evergreens here though is always a nice treat.

I'm sure I would. I'll visit someday! Would be so weird to see a monkey, ha. Never seen one in the wild

Dude these shots are insane! I’m super jello of you and @natebillings... wish I could be out there adventuring with you two 😩.

Thanks isaiah! Come visit man, we'll hang

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 01:14:45
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 151.26/200.00
Total Photos: 22
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow - great story and pics from your trip!

Thank you! glad you enjoyed it :)

Greetings friend, an adventure ... I love the catches, good focus, perfect scenery and excellent lights; Thanks for sharing such places, good vibes and I hope to see more ...

Thank you! You'll definitely be seeing more!

Congratulations @nathanielwise, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3322 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1943.13. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94