My PhotoVisions #52 - Watching the river flow - Panorama stitching process

in #photofeed6 years ago

Hi there Friends!


Yesterday after whole day spent at home, mostly in front of my screen - I had really enough and need to go somewhere out, see the open sky above and feel the smell of fresh air...

It was late already, some heavy clouds gathered bringing local showers, I was hoping for a miracle and nice sunset light, instead of it, I got dark, flat light and some rain... but anyway - I went out to catch some air, not necessary great shots.

I went by car to the location, 20 minutes way from my place. I was shooting the place last winter and I remember the falling water creates there nice vortex in the middle of the pond. I was hoping to catch this as well as few other shots of my beloved blue hour, before it gets dark totally.

I will post the rest of the results in separate post, now, I will focus on the panoramic view I made.

This is the final image I got:


pan_log.jpg Click for fullscreen mode


I am always stiching my panoramas manually using Photoshop. I wrote few articles already so I won't explain the whole process again. I was trying to do it with PS tools and scripts but after that, they need some extra manual correction anyway, taking time, so I prefer to have a control over it from the beginning to the end than relying on automatic processes which I have to correct later.

This is the First stage of the process - After processing all images in Synchronization mode in Camera RAW (global working on highlights, shadows, saturation, contrast, sharpness and chromatic abberation removal) I choose the middle photo, or one of them as my starting point. Later, I paste other shots, using partial opacityu, I am trying to find the best stitching point, than, using masking tool I cover the parts of the photo on top to match the details of the photo at the bottom.
Working on the layers and masking the photos are the main activity at this point.

This are separated layers, to show You how I made every layer ready by masking unwanted parts...


stage 1.jpg


After merging the layers together I got this picture:


stage 2.jpg


Now time to crop the image and work with the rest of post-processing stuff...
This is almost final image I was working on:


stage 3.jpg


Now I was trying to get some parts brighter, some other darker, some colours added, some distortion removed... and we get to the final:


pan_log.jpg


Hope You liked this very quick tutorial of how I am doing the panoramas manually.

If You have any thoughts or opinions write in comment!

Thanks for reading and until next one! Tomorrow I will try to post the full gallery from this short photo trip so stay tuned if You like the dark ;).


<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Any photo available as Digital Files. Join my Discord channel for details: https://discord.gg/ApdDcNh
If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
Calendars from beautiful Norway on 2019 available to Pre-order on my site.

Thanks for watching and have a great day!


Upvoting, Resteeming and Following are the best way to show the authors that You like their work, it supports them not only finacially but what more important gives a huuuge amount of positive energy to create more interesting posts and work on future projects!

pv baner photoguide.png

Sort:  

It's a nice picture.
please visit my blog too.

Hi, thanks a lot, I visited Your blog and upvoted some of the shots Which I liked the most. Keep shooting and posting! Good job.

Thank you very much for coming.

All are looks like something out of a fantasy ❤😊❤ good composition and i love the softness of the nature colours ❤ love your style 👌

Thank You, good to hear You like my style - I could pop up the image much more - as probably most of the people would do - but I love the subtle natural light and colours of the time called blue hour - when everything is covered with this nice, blue tones and hides the details in shadow... This is something I always want to get - the most natural looking picture - the balance between photoshop tricks and natural look...

I love the colors definitely in your photographs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78