Kokanee Salmon and Fall Colors! Shot Yesterday

in #photofeed5 years ago

Yesterday, one of my clients texted that the house I was supposed to shoot a virtual tour for wasn't quite ready and that she needed to postpone the shoot. Not a problem! I wanted to shoot fall colors anyway...

This is a spot that a good friend and fishing buddy told me about recently. I was surprised to learn that the Kokanee Salmon spawned at this location on the Little Truckee River. The river flows into Stampede Reservoir, a favorite fishing spot just north of Truckee, California where I live. I knew the salmon ran upstream at Sagehen Creek which also flows into the reservoir but there were a lot more fish at this spot.

I was there for quite a while and I have more photos to share. I also shot a bunch of video footage so I hope to have a new dtube video soon... But for now, please enjoy this over/under shot, probably my favorite photo of the day.

click image to view large
_Q1A1933.jpg

Shot on a Canon 5DS R in an Ewa-Marine U-B 100 Underwater Housing About half of the lens was above the surface of the water, about half was below. A 16-35mm lens was used, set at 16mm. No filters were used. The shutter speed was 1/250 second, fast enough to freeze the motion of the fish. The ISO was 800, fairly high and light sensitive since I wanted to make sure I could use a smaller aperture. The camera was set to speed priority mode so the camera automatically chose an aperture of f16. A decent amount of work was done to the image in Photoshop's Camera Raw feature. I really lightened up the underwater part of the image quite a bit in order to show the fish better.

I hope you're having a great and photogenic weekend!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

That is so cool, look at all them red fish!!
We could of used one of those underwater
boxes last week! 🐟

Color above and below, awesome shot Scott! :-)

Thank you @shasta! Yeah, there was a ton of them. The underwater housing has been a great addition to the gear. Super colorful out there yesterday!

Absolutely beautiful shot which captured everything.

Thank you! Glad you like the photo.

Awesome photo @scottshots! Brilliantly captured the salmon. Adds some great fall coloring. Good job!

Thank you @thraellock! Glad you like that shot, it was a fun one to get.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75