The MET Cloisters

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

I am a museum girl!

I discovered my delight in art history when I was in college and took a humanities class from a fantastic professor that helped the art come alive. Since then I have visited many museums all over the world.

While living in DC for 6 years I was fortunate to go to many amazing museums in DC, New York and Boston.

At the top of my list of great museums that I have visited is the MET. The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. I have been there at least 10 times and can hardly wait for the opportunity to go again.

On trip to New York last summer, I stayed with a friend who lives in Upper Manhattan, by The MET Cloisters.

Wow what a treat.

The museum is centered around four cloisters- the Cuxa, Saint-Guilhem, Bonnefont and Trie cloisters. These cloisters were acquired by Gerorge Grey Barnard and dismantled in Europe between 1934 and 1939 and relocated to New York.

The architecture, sculpture and art are from medieval Europe with a focus on Byzantine, Romanesque and Gothic periods.

I am a huge fan of the architecture as the art in the building. Another of my favorite art museums is the Isabella Stewart Gardener Musuem in Boston. She also built the museum with architectural fragments from the artistic structures.


The MET Cloisters are located in the beautiful Fort Tyron Park in Washington Heights overlooking the Hudson River.

The park is 67 acres. It has over 500 varieties of plants and lots of different gardens to explore.

It also has 8 miles of pathways to walk or run on and is home to Manhattan's largest dog run, two playgrounds and basketball and volleyball courts.

They have many events in the park including Sunrise Tai Chi and Sunset Yoga. I love yoga in gardens!

It was a pleasure to stroll through the park on our way to the The Cloisters and as we made our way back to the subway.

Fort Tyron Park added so much beauty to the the experience of going to the Cloisters!



As I mentioned one of my favorites is when the artistic architecture is incorporated in the museum.


Here are a couple of highlights of the art

Camel, Castile-Leon, Spain, 1129-1134
The Unicorn in Captivity, South Netherlandish, 1495-1505


The Merode Altarpeice, Robert Campin and workshop, Netherlandish, after 1422

Lots of Madonna and child pieces... which I gravitate too


After our visit to the museum we had a picnic above the Hudson River and next to cloisters. It was wonderful.

I did a little photo shoot of Emma Rose with my phone. She's adorable.

What a fun girl's weekend in New York City.

It was so great to be able to finally get to go to The MET Cloisters!

Sort:  

I also love museums. Architecture and history have always fascinated me. There are so many amazing museum in Europe that I've visited and my favorite was actually a new museum in Krakow and museums in Vatican city 😊 Thank you for telling us about your passion!

Martina. It was so wonderful to finally see this museum after so many years of hearing about it.
Oh cool, Steemfest is in Krakow this year.
Looks like you are enjoying your vacation, so beautiful.

I can imagine!

Will you be going? I'm not so sure myself even though it's so nearby. Actually Krakow is just 4 hours drive from my hometown in Slovakia :)

I had the best summer ever. I was on a garden leave until end of July and now I've started preparing my next project that I will reveal at the beginning of next year :)

That is super close. I will not be going, it is really far away and there is another trip to Europe that I might be taking in February, to Italy. That is fun to have a new project in the works!

Hello @sjarvie5,

Congrats! Your outstanding work is featured on the Photocircle Top 10 Contributors for the category "Architecture & City".
Cheers!
@Photocircle Team


You may view the post where your photograph is featured through this link: https://steemit.com/@photocircle/photocircle-top-10-contributors-113th-edition-architecture-and-city

Learn more about this new project feature through the link below:

» Photocircle Project Quest

I am a museum girl too. I went to the Met in June this year to see the Fashion and the Catholic tradition exhibit. Very good!

That is so fun to find other that enjoy museums like I do. That is great that you were able to come to the US this summer. Where all did you go?

I went to Princeton and had the chance to visit the museum there too. Also went to California for a few days. Great trip. More photos coming soon.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-04T14:09:27
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 210.15/200.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

If you would like to stop receiving comments then reply!STOP!

Museums are rad! I love a good museum. Growing up I had plenty near buy. I was only 50 minutes from San Francisco, they have great ones there. The Egyptian Museum in San Jose is pretty cool, at least I think it was, lol I was super young when I went there. Can never go wrong with a cool museum. If you ever get a chance, go check out the Museum in Show Low, it is pretty awesome. :) small but awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05