[PHOTO ESSAY] A detailed look at the Mezquita in Cordoba: Mosque versus Cathedral

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: [PHOTO ESSAY] A detailed look at the Mezquita in Cordoba: Mosque versus Cathedral


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

Beautiful shots @soyrosa, I'd really like to visit Cordoba and Andalusia in general, so much history, I feel specially connected to it as is the homeland of some of my ancestors and place of a large mixture of cultures much like latin america is.

Thanks a lot @melooo182! :-) I appreciate your comment. I love Andalusia in general indeed, there is so much to see, nature is beautiful, cultural remnants of different people... It's gorgeous.

Beautiful images indeed...

Such beautiful and creative work of art.
The design in the mosque and cathedral are similar in decorations but different in building structure
Thanks for sharing such beautiful photos. They look amazing.

Thanks a lot for commenting @cyntibellar! Some similarities and a lot of differences indeed, it was truly amazing to see that come together in one building :-)

I can only imagine how much time it took to create this opulent structure with such details. This transformation is amazing!

In the end it took them centuries @lymepoet! :-) I'm always amazed by the dedication people have while building these gorgeous buildings in general :-)

What a glorious post. I think I also prefer the mosque architecture but the cathedral is well represented, too.

Just wonderful photography of an absolutely intriguing subject. Thank you.

Thanks for stopping by to appreciate the photos @bigtom13! I couldn't stop looking at all the tiny details :-)

What an amazing topic and incredibe photography ! Thank you for this !

Thank YOU for stopping by @pennydread! :D

Well of course darling, this is what this amazing site is all about <3 Supporting each others thoughts and work <3

Fabulous shots @soyrosa
I especially like the transition from mosque to cathedral photos.

Thank you @cizzo! Glad you liked them! :-)

This is such a beautifully written piece, and a truly amazing place!
Muslims and Christians coexisted for centuries at certain periods but this is a part of history that we tend to forget.

Yes, and it's such a shame we have forgotten that... I would love to see this one building as a symbol of 'better times' if we can call it that :-) Thanks for commenting @fotostef!

Wow the pictures are breathtaking.. such detail.. beautiful!

Thanks for the nice words @anouk.nox! Glad you can appreciate it :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89