a waterfall in Union Inlet, Somerville Island

in #photofeed5 years ago

A grand and marvellous aspect of departing from "civilization" and head into nature to explore is what you might find just around the corner. There is something very freeing and addictive about casting the lines, pushing off the dock and setting a course in a ship to anywhere you want. At the end of everyday of searching and exploring it is important to find a safe and calm area to drop anchor before opening the bottle of wine and toasting to another day in natural world.

This process can be fun but also very long, as there are many factors that play a role when it comes to ensuring you are in a safe anchorage before kicking your feet up and relaxing. This inlet we found was on the northern end of Somerville Island, which is called Union Inlet and at the end of this inlet is a beautiful waterfall, whose gentle sound I fell asleep to the previous evening. So early the next morning I took a small zodiac and cruised into the shoreline to get a little closer to this natural wonder.

As always I got some time to play around with taking a few photos with different long exposures and this was one of those photos I took. The one thing I had to be careful was not to slip into the freezing water, as it was quite a long way down and there isn't exactly anyone to help close by to assist if I hurt myself. However, it was nothing but a successful and amazing way to start yet another day on the coastline of BC.


IMG_5357-1.jpg
Click image to view full size

Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website new website too - Just BCOZ Photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07