last day of exploring in Antarctica

in #photofeed5 years ago

I can stress enough just how beautiful it is down there in Antarctica and simply put there are no words to truly capture and do this place justice of just how incredible it is. I was down there for almost 5 months this season, with working practically everyday for about 12+ hours a day, guiding and educating people from around the world all about this remote region on the planet.

I do remember one of the last days I spend down there last month in March. We were zodiac cruising near Cuverville Island on the Peninsula and I spotted about humpbacks that looked to be feeding and socializing with one another. Myself and my zodiac cruising buddy, Sam, headed down that way and just sat back and watched these huge giants of the ocean do their thing in the sunshine.

After about an hour we headed back to the ship and then began making our 2 day journey back to Ushuaia in South America. It was definitely an amazing way to end a 5 month love affair and will have me reminiscing about that encounter for the next 8 months until I have the opportunity once again to head down that way and fall in love all over again.


IMG_0309-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

I visited the Antarctic peninsula 20 years ago. Still amazing memories.

what a shot thomas.....this one goes to my collection!!!....great picture...

What a beautiful picture! I have loved seeing all your Antarctica pictures and will have to plan my trip (it is on my list) for when you are there!

Congratulations @thomasjmitchell! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 35000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Such a cool experience to have and I'm sure many stories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81