Leopard seal at Petermann Island

in #photofeed5 years ago (edited)

Today I was up at 430am, which was difficult but I did it and as soon as I was awake and on my zodiac I was wide ready to rock & explore the site known as Petermann Island. The reason for the earlier than usual start was due to the weather forecast, as we were expecting the winds to pick up a few hours later.

I was lucky enough to have a few minutes by myself in a zodiac and was allowed to go explore close by and see what was around. I was stoked to find a large Leopard seal on an ice floe having a rest, which is rare to encounter one of these apex predators without someone else in my zodiac. I took a few moments to take some photos before the snow started to fall significantly and as I did, it lifted it's head up and took a big glance at me. There is something to be said when you get stared at by one of these huge marine mammals. Basically, it is something you never forget.


IMG_4700-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

I wonder what the Leopard Seal was saying to you @thomasjmitchell?

haha. no idea, hopefully something friendly, as these guys can be really playful and curious or aggressive at times

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97