Indian House Lizards - The unknown mystery to the world

in #photofeed5 years ago (edited)
Do you about the famous or not-so-famous Indian lizards. Whenever I see people taking about lizards - it is mostly the big ones, the colorful ones and the lazy ones. The other day, I was talking to someone on steemit where they just knew about the big lizards, nothing about the Indian House Lizards.

Today I will show you the Indian Lizards.

Where do they come from in our houses?

Honestly that is a mystery. My mother and all the elders say they lives inside the walls. If you visit my house and inspect it, you won't find any single hole anywhere in the walls, door. But we still see lizards in houses. So yes it is a mystery about how do they get in the wall and come out of the walls.

A little about our relationship with Indian House Lizards

People in India are really scared of these little lizards. You will see some girls shouting when they see a lizard. Once I was out with my friends, we made a stop at a little road side cafe while travelling to hills. A girl and I were going to washroom, she came out shouting so bad that I got scared. On asking she told me there is a lizard inside. But then we switched the washroom and I went into the one with lizard. So its like 50-50, she shouted and I did not. My sister shouts, I don't. Mostly, people are not friendly to the lizards.

Some specifications about the house Lizards

They are mostly black in color if they are little ones - the baby lizards. When they grow up, they turn into cream\pale colored lizards. I have naver heard lizards biting anyone. Most times if you shout at them or do some kind of body movement - they would run. But I have heard Lizards piss on people when they are sleeping, the consequences are mild skin allergies.


Here enjoy some pictures of baby lizard and mama lizard.
I spotted the baby lizards at one of my terrace walls. She was running quickly. I think the baby lizards gets scared easily, the mam lizards does not run away that easily - they are way too confident and bold to get shooed away.

CDEC2E75-FE51-4FF1-BEDB-92CC3D1461FC.jpeg


71C18F83-AE0F-4BE0-B14B-4CCDDF102C68.jpeg


51DD5CCE-E13B-4AEC-8413-3376365DE296.jpeg


4CF6FA64-50D1-4F94-BC0F-C51843E2B625.jpeg


414E929D-A77E-4D22-8F7B-664699B6155A.jpeg


I spotted mama lizards at the backside of the washroom door. I have clicked a picture and marked a red circle to give an idea of its size.





I hope you liked this one, I was excited to click the lizards and share with you all :):)

Keep Calm and Steem On

The good times are back :)

Connect with me on Instragram



Communities I am part of

Sort:  

Like many of the other comments we have a similar species in Texas. They came here on cargo ships back during the colonial days as the Americas has no truly native geckos. Given how close they look to our house geckos I would imagine they are transplants in India as well.
As far as our house, its teaming with them and my boys love to watch them on the windows at night catching bugs and listening to them "bark" at each other. Its a little squeak the make to communicate with one another.

Its interesting to think of all the ways that people view reptiles and all the myths and folklore around them. Lizards don't urinate the way that mamas do, in a spray or stream. Its much more like a bird where the urine is a white glob usually next to the poop, and you usually find the "evidence" on ledges. Though falling from the ceiling into one's food is probably traumatizing I would imagine its far worse for the lizard than the person.

Omg, now it sounds like Geckos will soon run the world. Hehe how they have travelled to so many countries and have established. Who knows there is a Gecko world going along with humans, they have their own governments and territories :P hehe

They bark,, ohh, I have not experienced any sounds coming out of them.

Hmm urine evidence on ledges, this is something I want to educate myself about. Maybe I never tried to spot the urine consciously till now.

Yes falling from ceiling would be more scary for the lizard itself, hmm, they must be even discussing with each other like 'Hey be careful or you will fall'

Interesting points here, I like your comment, thankyou :)

Ah... Little lizards...

I think those in my home are of a different species (there are like thousands of lizard species anyways), but it doesn't change how people react to them... Screams every time they show up in the toilet or something. Their poo are also quite a problem so it isn't common to see people trying to get rid of them :P

Posted using Partiko Android

haha good to know that people scream at your place too :D

Hahaha, Lizards cannot bite Vibi.
Here we also have many lizards and I often pick one up in my bare hands.
We also have Gecko's that look like lizards and they also look the same as your house lizards.
One night we were eating at a table inside a hut and one dropped down from a roof rafter, it fell into the plate of food of a guy next to me and he almost fainted.
We were all contractors that worked on the electric power towers in the sugar cane fields.
It was soooo funny.
So, next time you see a lizard, grab him and when you show him to others, they will think that you have magic powers hahaha.
Maybe they will call you the queen of the lizard kingdom Lol.
Blessings!
Btw. Gecko's also cannot bite. (They have no teeth)

Oh Gecko, I just googled it. It sure looks like a lizard, a little more scary, it looks like Gecko is sarcastically laughing in one of the google image I saw.

The guy who fainted must have been like my sister, hehe that's funny.
Too scared to hold a little lizard, I have a thing with small animals- I am scared of them.

I will be happy to first meet a big lizards and analyse from where it pisses and then think about the little ones. :P:P

Hahaha, so you are going to have a look at where the big Lizard's urinates???
You are too cute Lol
Blessings!

haha yes that is something I want to do first :P:P

This post has been rewarded with 100% upvote from @indiaunited-bot community account. We are happy to have you as one of the valuable member of the community.

If you would like to delegate to @IndiaUnited you can do so by clicking on the following links: 5SP, 10SP, 15SP, 20SP 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

This small one looks very cool :) ... I like this photos :)

thanks fox :)

you are welcome :)

This is very cool! I’ve seen lizards like these in Florida as well! Wow, I really want to know how they get inside now 🤔

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh wow Florida too, I have got to know that Greece also has similar ones.

So now we have three India, Greece and Florida.

I wonder if they’re all the same species of lizard, and if they all use the same method to get inside the houses! Smart lizards 🦎

Posted using Partiko iOS

heheh yeah to think about is it the same species or different ones,,, hmm I am still thinking, sure smart lizards.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @vibesforlife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

we have same lizards.in greece as well.
i think they slip under doors when they feel that need a cooler environment or/and when they search for water!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh wow same lizards in Greece, I am feeling good - dont know why :P :):)

Yeah probably they come inside from outside looking for a better temperature, I have observed they mostly do it night time, so maybe they are looking for a hotter place. Not sure though

Lovely lizard pictures. I miss indian house lizards. We have some along streams, lakes and rivers that come out in summers. Unfortunately not in the house. I used to think they eat the mosquitos and therefore really like them. I actually also like spiders. Its like having pets that aren’t really pets.

Posted using Partiko iOS

ahahahahaha I am laughing on your end note - its like having pets that aren't really pets. This makes sense, next time someone asks me if i have a pet, I can call out lizards with this note.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09