Justin Beaver

in #photofeed6 years ago

Earlier this week I forced myself out of bed an hour earlier than normal and went outside to take picture of any wildlife I came across. It felt really good to get outside and be kind of productive before going to work and I definitely will be doing it more often in the future! I was mostly expecting to see birds and squirrels, but was treated to something I wasn't expected - a beaver! I've seen beavers in the wild before, but just glimpses of them and then they disappear. I saw this guy swimming along the bank of the Olentangy River and I ended up being able to follow him down the river for almost an hour. It was so cool to watch him (or her I suppose, hard to tell) nibble on food, fight his way through the stronger parts of the current, and eye me suspiciously if I got too close. One time I startled him and he slapped his tail on the water and disappeared underwater for a while before showing up again downstream.

I was a little disappointed with the pictures I was able to get (turns out beavers tend to stay mostly covered by water), but overall it was a super cool experience. Here are a few pictures!

edit-4406.jpg

edit-4388.jpg

edit-4414.jpg

edit-4391.jpg

edit-4381.jpg

Sort:  

Hey I'm just seeing this now. Beautifully captured @yumyumseth kinda reminds me of the beavers in the animation 'Open Season'. And your caption is quite hilarious 😂 😂 😂

Haha! Gotta love those beavers! Thanks :)

Nice. I have seen a few up here but never been close enough to get a decent photo of one.

Thanks! Yeah, it definitely didn't like me getting too close to it, they seem to be pretty private creatures!

you are lucky, so go first and find it, or is the beaver always there?
all your photos and stories are very interesting,
thanks for sharing @yumyumseth

I'd never seen this beaver before! Not sure if he's always there, or if I just got lucky.

Thanks!

Ahaha, nice pun. :P

Thanks, put a lot of deep thought into it ;)

Super sick man! I've seen some docos of beavers and its crazy to see how much they can change the landscape

Hey thanks! It was a lot of fun. Dude yeah, they can do some serious damage with those little chompers and their dam building. So cool.

Nice shots of the beaver. It is not easy to get photos of them out of the water.

Thanks! Haha, well now I know for future reference...

That's amazing!! Given the difficulty of taking photos of wildlife, especially those that swim like beavers, this is a great collection of shots! Looks like you even found its home/dam!

Dang, beavers really are really at home in the water, I guess we already knew that but trying to photograph them hones in that point

Well, thanks I appreciate it! I don't think it was its nest, just a pile of sticks, but hoping to find out where it lives in the future!

Haha right? I knew that was the case, but just like stand up on your hind legs for me or something please? :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-12T16:56:09
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 708.53/800.00
Total Photos: 75
Total comments: 36
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85