Little Boy, Big World

in #photofeed6 years ago

I took this picture of @aweber's son a couple weeks ago when we were exploring the field and woods behind their house. I always loved exploring outdoors and using my imagination as a kid (also as an adult, turns out) and I love seeing kids enjoy the same sort of thing now. When I was younger I would spend hours in my backyard pretending I was Daniel Boone exploring the American Frontier, or some imaginary war general leading my army into a deadly battle, or even hunting sparrows and blackbirds with my slingshot and pretending as if my life depended on it (luckily it didn't, otherwise I would have starved real freakin' fast. My aim wasn't great). As an adult I have definitely retained some of my childlike imagination and sense of adventure, but there's something about being a kid that lets you envelop yourself in a world of fantasy and imagination in a way that makes it feel as though it's really happening.

TLDR: Being a kid is cool.

edit-4283.jpg

CameraCanon 6D
LensCanon 70-200 f/4 + 1.4x extender
LocationPlain City, OH
Sort:  

I love this... I think so many kids of the modern world miss out on so much of what you're talking about now. So many spend all their time inside on devices and miss out on so much for doing so. It's a breath of fresh air to see kids being kids! : ) Your childhood sounds like it was perfectly wonderful!!

Definitely agree. I loved playing computer games as a kid, but my parents made that a very limited part of my life and as a result I spent most of my time outside using my imagination, for which I'm really grateful.

My husband is becoming heavily involved with learning the data that is coming out about the effects all our mod-cons are having on our children. Well not just our children but all of us in some sense but the science is scary with the implications it is having on young brains. I know some countries are banning the use of phones/tablets etc for children under certain ages. Others are banning them from schools till a certain age too. While a few countries are picking up on the risks and acting on it, most are not.

It's quite rare to find a child today that has a childhood like you and I grew up with... it's quite sad really...

Interesting! I've wondered about the actual effects on the brain. I'm definitely going to do my best to limit device use by my kids when the time comes, but it'll be a hard thing to do as technology becomes more enmeshed in our lives!

I think in time as things get worse, change will happen. The question is how bad will it have to get before the change? It is really interesting and quite scary on some levels. We are pretty well device free now, only because of what my husband does... everyone is always blown away that we are a mobile phone free house and I have a 18 year old. He has been learning along the way, listening to us talking and has no interest in having a phone. We'll see how that goes. : )

Yes there's a number of effects... it can compromise cognitive ability, addiction (of course) and something called digital dementia is very much on the rise. But then there is also all the other health effects on the body also if they're using wireless devices which most are now a days. Then there's also the blue light issue. Kids of today are up against so much more than we ever were!

very beautiful imagine life in childhood.
no burden of the mind faced,
is that his son aweber who has a @aweber steemit account?
nice photo!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-17T19:30:36
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 728.03/800.00
Total Photos: 78
Total comments: 36
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks awesome :) ..

Those trees completely are dwarfing him. But he's in full stride running with excitement. Miss being a kid. Love the photo!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84