Taj Mahal in Monsoon Season

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

When I visited the opulent work of art that is the Taj Mahal, it was the beginning of monsoon season – hot, muggy and soaking wet. A more discerning traveler might've held off until another day, but we were on a tight schedule.

I'd been invited by a guy named Zach whom I'd met on my flight from SF to Delhi, just a few days earlier. He was beginning a quick, 2 week trip, had already paid for most of it and had room for a friend to tag along. I said yes simply because it was easy, and I had no plans of my own.

I hadn't yet figured out that my spirit isn't well-suited to nor interested in the typical tourist itinerary.

After a full day of temple visits during intermittent, torrential downpours, we'd arrived in Agra the evening prior. We had just this one day to visit the Taj before heading off towards Rajasthan's Pink City.

Once inside the gate, I set off on my own to explore the 42 acre complex.


taj-mahal-1.jpg


Perhaps it wasn't the sparkling white architectural splendor I'd always seen in pictures, yet it was no less majestic and awe-inspiring.

While the marble didn't reflect as it would've on a clear, sunny day, its striated patterns and texture were more visible, making it far more interesting to my eye. In the overcast light, I could more easily see the imperfections – the natural character of the stone.


taj-mahal-107-3.jpg

taj-mahal-21-3.jpg


I was struck by the craftsmanship of the carefully chosen embellishments gracing the exterior; the impeccably carved floral motifs, stone inlay, geometric patterns and Arabic calligraphy.


taj-mahal-2.jpg


taj-mahal-6.jpg


Visually, the rain made for a wonderfully rich experience, deepening the contrast between the ivory-white marble of the mausoleum and the red sandstone of the pathways and courtyards surrounding it.


taj-mahal-46.jpg



Even the stone beneath my feet was placed with careful intention, with geometric shapes and decorative features to match the nearby buildings.


taj-mahal-51.jpg

taj-mahal-55.jpg


Though I did venture inside, I didn't stay long as it was quite dark and rather dreary. Still, the attention given to the inner space was no less impressive than that which I'd observed outside.



taj-mahal-19.jpg



I was equally impressed by the two structures that flanked it as I was by the mausoleum itself. Constructed of marble and red sandstone, these buildings mirror each other – like sentries, guarding the tomb.


taj-mahal-31.jpg

taj-mahal-56.jpg

taj-mahal-61.jpg


The weather actually made it easier to photograph – both because of the narrower dynamic range (fewer glaring reflections flanked by dark shadows) but also because it was markedly lacking in visitors.

Besides myself, a few caretakers and a small handful of other 'tourists', the grounds were primarily visited by locals that day.


taj-mahal-73.jpg

taj-mahal-38.jpg

taj-mahal-89.jpg


As it turned out, many of them seemed more interested in me than the Taj Mahal. As I would come to appreciate about the people of India, there's simply no pretense in their gaze; they made no attempts to conceal their curiosity.


taj-mahal-58.jpg

taj-mahal-63.jpg


It was rather unnerving at first – I wasn't accustomed to being stared at with such intensity. Even the monkeys were staring me down.


taj-mahal-34.jpg


I didn't yet know even the most basic Hindi, so I responded with the only thing I could then offer; that universally recognized expression that transcends language – a smile.

They responded, in kind – grinning with such delighted warmth – clearly amused as we snapped photos of each-other.


taj-mahal-65.jpg


taj-mahal-62.jpg


The children, however – were not quite so easily convinced. They regarded me with cautious uncertainty, more than a bit wary of my unfamiliar appearance.

Though they were a harder sell, I did manage to draw a lovely smile from one of the boys, while his sister eagerly showed me her freshly henna'd palms.


taj-mahal-92.jpg


taj-mahal-90.jpg


I made my way back towards the entrance, choosing a quiet a path that lead through lush trees and well-tended gardens.


taj-mahal-35.jpg

taj-mahal-82.jpg


Wondering what it was they'd found so fascinating, I turned the camera on myself.

I laughed as I realized what a truly strange creature I must've been to them; green eyes – pale, freckled skin – fine, dyed hair (extra wild due to the humidity) – skinny blue jeans, fitted black top and feather earrings.

I had so obviously just landed.


taj-mahal-80.jpg


Though I've shared this image before, this post simply wouldn't be complete without it. After all, it's the single photo that most resembles the pristine idea I'd held of this place for so long.


taj-mahal-1.jpg


While I enjoyed experiencing the Taj Mahal and was happy to cross that off my proverbial bucket list, it was the unexpected human interactions that made the most lasting impression and, ultimately, changed the course of my journey.

The following day would find me sending Zach on his way, opting to stay in Agra for a while – to slowly walk down all those bustling streets we'd flown past in an air-conditioned car. Three days was more than enough for me to know – that pace and focus wasn't at all how I wanted to travel.

I had a long trip ahead of me, though I didn't know that yet. In this moment, the coming days held seemingly infinite possibilities – each step pivoting on the one that preceded it; unplanned and untethered.


Specs: Canon EOS 5D Markii • Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India
35mmf1.4L Prime • ISO50 - f21.4 - various shutter speeds • 5 October 2009


raindrop-promo-thin.jpg

DP-promo-stella.jpg

Sort:  

Wow these photos are amazing! Random question: Did you bring bug repellent?


I appreciate how you embraced the culture even though, at first, it was a bit “unnerving”. It’s kida funny how we’re all observers, and some will conceal more than others.

And, did I mention these photos!? I did, but I will again. You’ve beautifully displayed all the womderful details that otherwise are hidden to the naked eye

Keep up the great work 🤙

Thanks! and LOL! My friend – this was the first week of a year-long journey. You can rest assured I'd covered all the bases, yet I also flew with carry-on only, *including camera gear!

It's a bit hard to remember allll the details of what was in my pack now, but I'm pretty sure I eventually just grew accustomed to the bugs. ;)

This is an AWESOME post! I have seen so many pictures of the Taj Mahal before but never as in depth or up close like these. I love to travel and meet new people that are so different from me and yet we are all so similar. Thanks for sharing your adventures!
Ivy

Yay! I'm loving how much everyone is appreciating the details as much as I did. Truly – that is what delighted me the most about the structure itself. :)

How could you not enjoy the detail? It's incredible! Its awesome that you chose to share this. I love seeing photos of people's travels and you have a wonderful eye for detail in all of your shots. Love it!
Ivy

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Thank you so much for sharing this post @zipporah! I've never been to the Taj Mahal but of course believed it to be beautiful from photos that I have seen, but your post, writing and photos, has created something entirely different for me!! The photos of the faces, the feet on the stairs, the quiet path on the way back, and of course you! All so awesome. And this,

so I responded with the only thing I could then offer; that universally recognized expression that transcends language – a smile.

You really made my heart smile today! Thank you :)

Thank you @lynncoyle1!

It's funny; I started this post aaages ago, but was only going to share a handful of photos. As I was about to post, I realized it felt kinda flat and didn't really honor that day's significance. So – I decided to evolve it into a 'travel with me' sort of piece. As this was the beginning, I may just continue sharing chronological glimpses of my year-long trip

I'm glad to know it spoke to you! <3

You're most welcome! And I for one am so pleased that you changed courses and went with this. I look forward to glimpses of the rest of your trip:)

There are already so many single photo glimpses on my blog, but – this was fun (even if a lot of work), so I suspect I'll be doing more like it! :)

I'll have to check those out @zipporah, but work aside, I hope you do 😅

These are breathtaking pictures with awesome background details. Can you please tell me the camera you used for the photographs? Thanks for sharing.

Glad you appreciate them, @greenrun! I always include that info at the bottom of my posts, yet I'm happy to repeat here; this set was shot with a Canon 5D Markii and 35mm f1.4, L-Series prime lens. (I'm admittedly a prime lens snob – I've only photographed with the highest quality, 'fast' glass for a decade now, always shooting 'wide-open'.

I so enjoyed revisiting this day as I drafted this post – I'm feeling inspired to begin sharing the rest of my journey in similar fashion, beginning with a bit of a rewind to the few days that preceded this one.

stay tuned! ;)

india-shydog-3.jpg

Oh, my bad. I missed it. Wow, those were wonderful DSLR cameras. I own a cropped frame Nikon D3300 :)

Nothing bad about asking! I was just letting you know for future reference, that you can usually find that info at the end of my photo posts. ;)

What a beautiful post, @zipporah <3 I love how the photos, i love how you write, i love how you brought me with you on this journey :> Thank you for sharing this !

The part where you managed to bridge a connection without language was very charming <3 A smile :> and they smiled back * ___ *

So wonderful !

Very lovely post, it really brightens my day <3

Beaming a huge smile atcha, @veryspider! It's true – it was a sincerely heart-warming moment for me. I felt all at once like an alien and and old friend. Isn't it funny how that works?hugs!

yes ! that wonderful feeling of connectedness and of people are people and people are good <3 this is what your post made me feel <3 <3 <3

hugs

you are a truly warm spirit!

Wow! And just Wow!

All the pictures are beautiful but the ones with the people I just LOVE! That grouping with the people on the stairs and people sweeping - the colors and feel are just amazing.

Your storytelling of the adventure is just as awesome as the pictures.

I hope another post is coming with the next stop on your travels!

XXXOOO
~T

Yes, dear Tamala! As I mentioned above, I'd only intended to share a small handful of images – as I usually do. But it felt important, somehow, to invest a bit more into this one.

I love your enthusiast appreciation and support! <3 xo!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thanks so much, friends! Honored.

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Much gratitude @travelfeed! :)

Wowsers! Truly spectacular story, pics, people and, of course, the place itself!
I was wondering about the lack of touristy people in the photos, I mean, it is India after all, and then I read your description of why.
I'm glad you pushed through to finish this post. It was a beautiful journey to be taken on...


Blissful blessings and smiles

in joy

Nathan

NK

Yep! I'm fairly certain I would not have enjoyed it had the grounds been crawling with tourists. And now, in some small way, you've been there with me! ;)

Oh definitely! And you also inadvertently gave a great travel tip - Go to the Taj Mahal during wet weather! Mental note taken... Thanks so much...

Glad to be of service! ;)

@zipporah wow, wow wow... this is such a beautiful post.. i love how you have shown the life and architecture, people and the craftmanship..its simply amazing..i loved this .. <3 been here many times and i cant wait to go back again!! love from India

Awesome! Especially as you've been there before, which I suspect most people here can't say – I'm grateful for your appreciation. I do so miss Mama India...please kiss her for me! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67