Past, Present, And Future

in #photogames6 years ago (edited)

The photo stars of the second season of @photogames have been given the opportunity to make up for points lost during the week we helped out and judged the contest entries. We were asked to provide a photo that represents the past, a photo that represents the present, and to talk a bit about the future (choice of topics were listed on this contest entry post)

The two photos below are both of buttercup wildflowers in meadows near where I live in Truckee, California. The bottom photo was shot at Kyburz Flat in May of 2003, shot with a Canon EOS3 on 35mm Fuji Velvia slide film, no lens filters were used. Velvia was a fun film to shoot, I would then take the developed slides and scan them with a 4000 dpi film scanner and bring them into photoshop to work on them. Looking back on the photo, the color balance was a bit off in my opinion but I would try to edit my images to match the colors in the slide film. It was still a decent shot and I sold many prints of that image back when I used to participate in art and craft fairs.

The top image was shot at Sagehen Meadows on May 3rd 2018, just a few days ago. It was shot on a Canon 5Dsr digital camera with a polarizing lens filter and a graduated neutral density filter. My style of shooting and editing images has definitely changed over the last 15 years and that's a good thing. I like the color balance a lot more and RAW digital images now allow me to edit with a more bright, poppy, saturated look. This type of look tends to sell a lot better at the Vista Gallery and on my website.

The types of images I shoot these days really hasn't changed much since I moved to the Tahoe area 16 years ago, but fortunately experience and technology has helped me improve a bit. What do you think? Do you have a favorite of the two shots?

_Q1A3226.jpgPresent Photo

Kyburz Flat.jpgPast Photo

Now lets talk about the future... I chose the topic "What do you see as the future of the photography community on Steemit?"

It's no secrete that photographers love to post their images on social media. I have enjoyed sharing the beauty of the Tahoe area since the MySpace days. We tend to be a somewhat tech savvy group of people who are often early adapters of new social media sites. This is partly because of SEO reasons and we like to get our images and links out there. However, I believe it is also because we tend to love photography, and we love to see the works of art that other photographers produce. The camaraderie among photographers on social media sites has always been strong, but now, here on Steemit, we can get paid a little bit for out efforts. I believe this is going to pull more photographers to Steemit, every time I tell my photographer friends in person about this new way of sharing our images, their eyes light up and they want to know more.

I foresee Steemit becoming an incredibly popular site for many, many photographers to share their work, their experiences, and their knowledge. Personally, I have been motivated by Steemit to start sharing more "how-to" type information in my posts, rather than just posting the photo and a couple sentences like I have been doing on those other social media sites. Both the camaraderie and the monetization of posts has also motivated me to start vlogging about my adventures in the field and I've been trying to teach a little bit of the knowledge I keep on accumulating. (Here's my latest vlog about how I got the photo above: VLOG) I have noticed that many other photographers have also opened up on Steemit and are sharing what they know, this is awesome!

Out of all the social media sites I've been on over the years, Steemit has quickly become my favorite, by far. I believe there is a good chance this site is going to go huge soon and we will see tons of beautiful photos in our Steemit streams. I really look forward to more innovations and features being added to Steemit, the fun has just begun!!!



Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

Sort:  

Yay i love your outlook and yes being a photographer on many many sites yoir perspective seems right on!

Thanks @jarvie! I hope to introduce more Tahoe area photographers to the platform and the photogames in the near future... Have a great day!

Oh, it is so hard to pick, I really like them both. The newest one does "pop" more.

I'm going to count that as a "win" for the newer one. :)

The first image is my favorite but the snow capped mountain of the second is beautiful too

Thank you @snooway! I'm right there with you on that. Kyburz Flat does have a great background with that snowy mountain. I almost went to that same spot but Sagehen Meadows (the first one) is a lot more fun to 4x4 to.

Present Photo for me!! I think with time we all change and improve and technology has certainly helped our creative craft. I feel the same way about the steemit community... it is a great bunch of people!! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77