On A Mission To Find Archaeological Landmarks

in #photograophy5 years ago

About 3 weeks ago I set on the road to find some archeological landmarks. My destination was in northern Estonia near the village of Rebala. In the web, I found out that there should be a hiking trail which goes past all kinds of historical stuff. In reality, when I arrived, I never found out where this track was. I saw the starting point on the big map there but when I checked out this place there was no track or anything there. I got pretty mad for a second there due to deficient markings but then I decided to make my own way to different places.

Right next to where I started my walk was the first area to check out. These were the tombs built a LOOONG time ago. These tombs were dug out when construction of a freeway started there and this was pretty much at the start of the '80s. This was a burial site for 300 years and is only partially dug out. The tombs date back around 3000 years, that is pretty crazy. This also means it is the oldest stone made structure found in Estonia. Some photos of the place.

DSC_0081.jpg


DSC_0080.jpg


DSC_0082.jpg

Next was the Jõelähtme Maarja church on my way. This is not archaeological but still historical. I am not so sure about the building year of this but I know it was burnt several times during different wars.

DSC_0084.jpg


DSC_0085.jpg

Near the church in the park was also this memorial stone for the fallen in Estonian independence war. This monument was destroyed by communists in the '70s and then they stole it and buried the pieces. Today the pieces are partially recovered and glued together. The photo is of the new monument, the old one was nearby but I don't have a photo of this one.

DSC_0086.jpg

Next, I hit the road on foot to reach my last destination which was also an area with some old stone tombs. Yes, I could have gone everywhere in a car but I like to walk in nature.

DSC_0087.jpg


DSC_0088.jpg

After an hour and a half and some slight trouble finding the site, I finally reached there. All I found were the piles of stones in a middle of nowhere on a field, one bigger than another. These are also really old and date back to around year zero. There were about 15 separate hills of stones. I walked past all of them and took a couple of shots too.

DSC_0090.jpg


DSC_0091.jpg


DSC_0095.jpg

After that, I hurried all the way back on foot. It was dark outside when I finally got in a car again.
Now here is also a bonus for sunset lovers. On a walk back there was pretty nice sky during sundown.

DSC_0096.jpg


DSC_0097.jpg




Untitled4.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=greddyforce
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=on-a-mission-to-find-archaeological-landmarks


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @greddyforce! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Hiya, @martibis here, just swinging by to let you know you're an honorable mention in today's Travel Digest #479

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71