Housefinch feeding his mate

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

I caught an intimate moment between two house-finches (Haemorhous mexicanus), as an hungry female demanded food from her mate. Or perhaps this is only a potential mate, and she's imitating the behaviour of baby birds to test if the male is capable of providing for potential youngs? This might be possible, as I don't see how she could have difficulties in finding food for herself (there is a bird-feeder with appropriate seeds meters from where the photo was shot).

3u7kn0ldls.jpg

dlcydtamvt.jpg

cpmfd91hhd.jpg

wxms8wxfrn.jpg

ixvdt1rzzl.jpg

sdrb24ilmh.jpg

xeto9m529r.jpg

67xqkygyr6.jpg

eld1q1cvi7.jpg

niccemqasq.jpg

efbn2p4pj9.jpg

4t9xpaimas.jpg

I used a Minolta 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 lens on a Sony a77 camera. The photos required heavy cropping, hence the low resolution and details (Adobe Lightroom helped, but it can not do magic).

-aoi
Music: https://ao-i.bandcamp.com/
Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ao-i/

Sort:  

Great pics!! There is a good bird tag #featheredfriday worth taking a look.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! I'll keep it in mind for next friday.

oh my!!!!!!!! I cant think of any comments to add here, pics speak for themselves. You might be very proud for capturing this!!! I feel happy for you.

Hehe, thank you qwerrie! These aren't nat-geo quality, but I'm glad I had the chance to observe and capture this interesting behaviour (all while peacefully drinking my morning tea in the backyard).

I really enjoy their call, it sounds fairly unique compared to house sparrows.

Posted using Partiko Android

Agreed! I enjoy hearing them everyday through my window.

Very nice pictures of beautiful birds, i did'nt see this type before
but i don't think that the female have difficulties in finding food for herself , i guess that when he is feeding her is a sign that they are ready to mate together.
thank you for sharing this with us :)

It may be so! Like a bird version of a kiss.
Thanks for your comment.

It may be so! Like
A bird version of a kiss.
Thanks for your comment.

                 - a0i


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Good bot.

This is really good. Great catch!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you a0i! You've just received an upvote of 38% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Hi, @a0i!

You just got a 5.26% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66518.22
ETH 3187.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05