Portraits of crows, testing a Minolta 500mm f/8 AF mirror lens.

in #photography5 years ago

I had the opportunity to do a portrait photoshoot of three crows, as they were hanging out in my backyard. I was testing out a lens which I've just received from eBay, the Minolta 500mm f/8 AF mirror lens. It's a real pleasure to use, because it's much lighter and smaller than most telephoto lenses (only about 600g), so it can comfortably be shot handheld with Sony's in-camera image stabilization. A limitation is the fixed f/8 aperture with its small depth-of-field, but it's a fair trade-off considering the advantages, as the image quality is surprisingly good and the autofocus (an unique feature amongst mirror lens) is fast.

The lens is a good choice for those who want to photography wildlife (or unsuspecting humans) without the burden of a huge heavy expensive lens and the necessity of a tripod. Because it's an old lens, it can be found on eBay for about 250$ in mint condition (pro tip: always purchase from Japanese sellers, the quality and service are always excellent).

lmtu6nrjyy.jpg

rlg7wnrmcp.jpg

I'm glad I'm bigger than them, these are intimidating looks.

vmwsib1399.jpg

Notice the ring bokeh below, a characteristic of mirror lenses when there are strong highlights in the background. Some might not care for it, but when it's not too distracting I find it only adds some flair to the images.

od7kdbsk0a.jpg

uxnobu99un.jpg

slw46yirga.jpg

0huxt1v67t.jpg

6twuwwcm0w.jpg

ex16d6gvif.jpg

cbx4ltz3k8.jpg

mkbt72gui2.jpg

xz2z5ohzgj.jpg

The lens (image from dyxum.com).
25_1.jpg

The camera is a Sony a77.

-aoi
Music: https://ao-i.bandcamp.com/
Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ao-i/

Sort:  

Great shots! They are looked like from nature magazine)

Aren't they beautiful? Great photos. I think crows are really underrated, as they lose out to flashy, more colourful birds and have a reputation of evil - but they are super clever, sleek, amazing creatures! Great photos.

I quite agree! And in close-up they are very interesting to see, as their intelligence seem to be apparent through their expressive faces.

Thanks for the kind comment.

Posted using Partiko Android

In Australia we have magpies which are about the same size and intelligence as Crows, although I think Crows are smarter. They are black and white and make the most delightful sound. They are also a lot more playful so fun to watch . but I make sure I give some my full attention to the Crows as well xx

Posted using Partiko Android

crows are so cool.incredibly smart too.i feed them good so they don't tear up my garbage.im getting that sony 600mm when it comes out in a couple weeks.i used to have a minolta 7000i 35mil film camera years ago.Im using a Sony A7-3 now.i love it.nice photos a0i

They definitely are. What do you feed them? They don't seem interested in the seed mix I leave outside.

Thanks for the comment. Followed you, eager to see your shots from that beastly 600mm lens.

Posted using Partiko Android

yea they wont eat the little seed.they eat bread.i throw out a parrot mix and i noticed they eat the peanuts.

Thanks for the info, I'll try to give them peanuts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice portrait shots of these crowns. Looks like an interesting lens with just 600grams for a 500mm.

Posted using Partiko Android

What fantastic crow photos! They are my favorites. Thanks for posting to #featheredfriday!

Thank you, glad you like them! I've just discovered the featheredfriday tag, will use it more. Still new to bird photography.

Posted using Partiko Android

I.Love.it! I see expressions!

Yes!!! It's really cool to see our aerial neighbors from up close, they are intelligent and expressive creatures.

Posted using Partiko Android

crows are very, very intelligent. you wont believe the stories that crow-watchers tell...

Oh yes I believe. I've read that when a crow dies, other crows gather around it to investigate the cause of death, probably in order to know if there's a nearby threat to them. A group of crows is called a murder, so it's a murder's murder investigation!

Posted using Partiko Android

blessings !!!!!!!!!

@bambuka, @tijntje, you should have a look at these shots / lens.

Thanks for the comments and publicity :)

Posted using Partiko Android

@a0i You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Thank you a0i! You've just received an upvote of 42% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87