The Ice Kingdom: early Spring's freezing rain, part 2

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

There has been dramatic weather in eastern Canada this week, with freezing rain on Monday and a snowstorm on Tuesday. The trees became clothed in ice, giving one the impression of being in a world of glass.

From up close, the young buds on the trees looked otherworldly beautiful.

A lilac tree:

DSC01504.jpg

DSC01512.jpg

DSC01530.jpg

The above pac-men buds give the impression that they are suffering and regretting exposing themselves too soon.

DSC01506.jpg

DSC01492.jpg

DSC01521.jpg

DSC01517.jpg

DSC01525.jpg

I used a Tamron 90mm f/2.8 macro lens on a Sony a77 camera, covered in a raincoat.

-aoi
Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ao-i/
Music: https://ao-i.bandcamp.com/

Sort:  

Looks beautiful!

Thank you :)

Posted using Partiko Android

"covered in a raincoat". so lovely!
as I see, we share love to macro. Tamron 90 was among the lenses I considered getting, but eventually I live now with Sigma 150mm. as the summer will come, more pics may follow... all the best.

Yes macros are so interesting to use, being able to see what the eye can't see. The macro lens has mostly been accumulating dust since winter began, but Spring is coming now.

Thanks for your comment! Kind regards.

Posted using Partiko Android

this is true, but theres even more truth. I am into it less than a year, but already got enchanted; I had this feeling, hmmmm.... see, digital photography nowadays is so simple: pay money, buy a clever camera, and travel.. just press the shutter - easy peasy! good results are guaranteed. and its all the same pretty much all around. Its a bit dull, I am bored of activity like this.
but
with the macro -- that absolutely cant be done that way! that was a very strong feeling i've got: that it is a secret area that I discovered, where you cant enter and make photography 'as it was before'. A lot of efforts, unpredictable results, one can compare to magic and mystery of unmanifested films. I love macro pretty much on this level, too. Not only for it is macro :=)
as for Radiohead (this was suddenly!) I have no rights to post others pics here -- I would like to, but its not possible.... So, I use tumblr for that stuff, and also radiox.ru. this place probably is for my own creativity :D

Well said! The results of macro photography can be very surprising.

Although I try not to become jaded by the simpleness of digital photography, even with types of photography other than macro. Even when it's simple, it can still be a meaningful and deep experience. I like to use photography as an opportunity to absorb my surroundings and put my ego out of the way as much as possible. Then, as a bonus, sometimes the results are pleasant to look at.

Ouch elliot, the first one looks kind of like ET's finger.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha it does!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you a0i! You've just received an upvote of 37% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts



Please come visit me to see my latest report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting. Also, come read my latest report to learn about SteemAX! There's now a video tutorial avaiable for you to learn how to use SteemAX to generate more upvotes and gain more followers! If you like @ArtTurtle then you'll LOVE this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85