In Defence Of Street Art Photography

in #photography5 years ago

Is that really the date? Already the first week on February gone? I keep telling people, before you know it, it'll be Christmas again!

We had a fantastic day in London today - windy, but sunny and not too cold for the time of year. When the skies are clear of clouds, it's really obvious that the days are getting longer. I was looking at the time at 4pm and thinking, hmm, the sun would have set already by now in December.

DSCF6962.JPG

When the day is clear and the light quality is great, I'm inspired to go out and and take some photos. We have a lot of artsy fartsy people in this town. Everyone is out expressing themselves.

In some parts of London, you can see hobbyist photographers like myself constantly out taking photos of apparently meaningless things. You can always tell them apart from the tourists. First, they're dressed differently, but secondly they are usually photographing mundane stuff. The tourists usually photograph landmarks and remarkable things.

I'm one of such people snapping photos of things growing out of walls and, well, wall art. I'm always in awe of the quality of street art here. I've seen some of these artists at work, so I'm even more impressed. Sometimes it's hard to believe they can achieve the level of detail they do with a spray can! It's really awesome to watch.

I'm such a big fan of this stuff, so I have a bit of a collection of photos of them. I don't actually ever do anything with those photos. They just sit on my hard drives for eternity - or until the disks stop working.

These photos in this post are some of such photos. I was looking through an external hard drive today and came across some of them. The thing is, I remember taking all these. I remember which camera I used, what the weather was like, and other such details. It's amazing how a photograph can jog the memory.

DSCF6999.JPG

Considering that these street masterpieces are temporary in nature, they often get painted over by the authorities or other artists within a short time period, they only live on in our photographs of them. So, actually, what seems to be a mundane act is actually a way of immortalising these great works.

See? Street art photography is not completely pointless.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

Your photos are nice but so dark and not "happy".. In Playa we have beautiful vivid street art behind every corner, thats why I love live here... it makes me happy everyday:)
btw. "It'll be Christmas again" :DDD thats my sentence :D

I have enjoyed how many places are now hiring local artists to do street art to improve the neighborhoods they seek to support. It has been able to demonstrate the local talent often available.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes that's true

They live in our photographies and our hearts. I love to see those changes specialty on my neighborhood, I like to notice when an piece that I used to love had been replaced by some other artist that is trying to show the same world in a different way. Is ment to be temporarily beautiful.

Yes indeed. Some of them stay longer than others. There was this amazing work in Shoreditch that was there for over 1 year. It's still kind of there, but it's been covered by so many rubbish graffiti tags now - just people writing signatures on it etc.

Photography is not completely worthless/pointless depending on the photographer's perspective/view.
If he/she sees it as a trash, the world won't hesitate to call it that.
Meanwhile, your works are just source of motivation and inspiration boss.
If you are not too busy, kindly check your mention, thanks!

Thank you very much. Ok I'll take a look

I love street art :D I make many many pictures of them too, my favourite series I published on Steem were shot in Lisbon and NYC (Brooklyn) :-)

Finger's crossed we will have a Steem photography walk one day, here or there. 🤞

Yesssssssss

Posted using Partiko iOS

Mundane is the Go! Soon again we will see more people on the streets snapping away, mhahaha! We see less activity over the winter, it is cold and dark, but as we approach the longer days and the warmer days, oh yes, it is going to be hand on your gear time!

Yes yes. I can't wait :)

i think it's worth and meaningful to classify and file the photos of records. Future people may draw lessens from these documentary.butterfly-1613341_1280.jpg

You're right. It's a bit of work though :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83