Tourists Be Gone

in #photography5 years ago

Disappearing People

Sometimes you just have to remove people from the scene



h172n5g5qe.jpg

The original photo was taken in the city of Mahón, Menorca. Because it was right opposite a major bus station, there was a lot of foot traffic. I must have waited for something like 15 minutes to get the scene this clear.

As someone that shoots a lot on film, I really don’t like to digitally process my photos much. I’ve had complaints from some of my model friends that I shot with recently because I didn’t remove any imperfections from their photos. I don’t like spending ages editing and to be honest, I don’t know how. My Photoshop skills suck, to put it mildly.

However there is a very nice tool in Lightroom (a subset of Photoshop), that makes this task and absolute breeze. I bet it was designed to help remove dust and other debris on the sensor, but it works so well for removing people. This is provided they are up against a relatively plain and uniform background. It wouldn’t work well for, say, removing someone from a crowd. It works wonders for removing spots on a face, or sensor dust from the sky.

k0xpcefp0x.jpg

Unless you’re trained to identify doctored photos, like a forensics expert for example, I don’t think anyone would notice that there were supposed to be people there. I even removed their shadows and it all only took 5 minutes or so.

Since I’m not a photo journalist or any such thing, I can do this sort of thing freely. Doctoring images is highly frowned upon in some photographic circles because that is seen as, amongst other things, telling lies.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

A good tool to clean up pictures, isn't it? I didn't know it. Many times a spectacular photo is damaged by a shadow or any undesirable detail, the worst is when the moment is unrepeatable. I am happy that every day new applications or tools appear to improve the photorealistic work that is done. Your task was fast and it was perfect, congratulations, @adetorrent. Good night to you.

Yes I'm grateful for this particular tool :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

As a photographer I find it annoying when I cant get shots without people. I simply wait like you did and wait from them to move. Interesting that you can forcibly remove them with software.

Yeah I used to wait for very long. I had a prime lens, and standing in front of another building, so I couldn't move back further to get the composition i wanted. Normally I'd point the camera slightly above the human height line to avoid people, but I really wanted to get the ground browns in. :)
I can see Lightroom is very powerful, but I only know about 5% of what it can do. I'm happy for this tool :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99