Sod Roofs for Hobbitsies

in #photography6 years ago



Click on image to view larger


Click on image to view larger


Grass Roofs for Hobbitsies

Middle Earth exists and it's not in New Zealand. It's right here in Norway! I swear. If you knock on on one of these houses doors you'll have a little fellow answer the door and tell you to "Sod" off and yell "No, thank you. We don’t want any more visitors, well-wishers, or distant relations."

Any minute now I'm expecting Bilbo Baggins to come out with a cup of tea and share a smoke with me with his pipeweed...from Eastfarthing.

Alright, movie puns aside. The Scandinavians love to grow "Sod" on their rooftops. They've been doing this for centuries. It was one of the weirdest but coolest things I've ever seen when I was driving around in Norway. I've even seen one homeowner place a goat on his roof so it can trim the grass.

You know what would be cool?

It would cool to grow a different kind of weed up there, you know what I mean? :wink: :wink:

You know the kind that can send you on a trip to Middle Earth and back when you smoke it ;)

Do you like Tolkien?


CategoryLandscape
ExposureManual exposure, 1/4 sec, ISO 100
CameraCanon EOS 5D MK II
LensCanon 24mm TSE
FilterPolarizer
LocationNorway

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness." - Mark Twain

All photos are taken and articles are written by Adonis Villanueva of Always Wanderlust unless otherwise stated.

SOMETHING VERY EXITING IS COMING OUT SOON - APPICS

SELL YOUR VOTE TO $MART$TEEM - SmartSteem
GET MORE FOLLOWERS - Steem Engine

Have a Laugh!
The Spider in the Patio
Detained for Drugs in Norway
Unforgettable Ride on a Chicken Bus
The Love Valley


Twitter Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Facebook Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Instagram Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Website, AlwaysWanderlust.com

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

© 2017 AlwaysWanderlust.com All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

Beautiful landscape

I'm going to look good.
I can not speak English because I do not live in an English speaking country. Thank you for your understanding.

I hope to be always healthy and full of happiness :)

That's Frodo's house! Really cool post! Thank you for sharing

It totally looks Tolkeinesque. Really lovely shots. I'd like to live in something like that. That view is incredible.

It's the view of the Geiranger :)

There is a hut in wonderful nature.
Harmony with nature is wonderful.
Thank you for a nice post ♪

@adonisabril I love these houses! This is now on my list of places to visit. And great idea about growing the weed up there ... I'd love to sit there and drink some weed tea!

Beautiful. It feels like a place you could think and reflect and come to massive realizations.

By far my favourite fantasy universe (Tolkien). One day I'd like to visit the 'Shire' in NZ where they filmed the movie. My dream would be to marry my girlfriend there lol! I recently had to put up posters in my class for the learners about history and geography- couldn't help but sneak a map of middle earth in there (it's geography / map work afterall).

Thanks for the amazing work

You could grow vegetables up there and it's good for insulation!

This is truly incredible,beautiful pic.Grass grown on top of the rooftop,truly a sight to behold.

great shot @abondisabril !!

keep it up :)

cheers
@marsell

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87