The legend of Naples

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

gaiola-cov.jpg

If I had to choose the place where I want to watch my last sunset, I would pick Gaiola Island. Wonder why? Because this place makes me feel deeply melancholic and nostalgic. There is also something mysterious and dramatic about it.

It was my last day in Naples. The city that you cannot be indifferent to. You either love it or hate it. And since I’m a weirdo who seeks for beauty in everything that is not that obvious and apparent, and who enjoys nuisance, boisterousness, and boldness, I fell in love with the place at first sight.

gaiola-3.jpg

I don’t know if it were circumstances or my hidden fascination that made me postpone the moment to see Gaiola Island. The place I wanted to visit since the first time I saw it in a music video. So, in my last day’s schedule, I didn’t want to include anything else but Gaiola and the culinary frying pizza experience (https://steemit.com/photography/@agniese/pizza-fritta-or-the-real-taste-of-naples), which is a vital part of Naples.

Gaiola is actually a part of the Gaiola Underwater Park, which protects the Gulf of Naples’ unique wildlife and its ancient Roman ruins, including the temple of Venus. They say that the poet Virgil taught his students on the islands or in the remains of the Roman harbor, which are both now sunken below the water.

Gaiola-2.jpg

What made Gaiola more interesting to me was the curse, which weighs upon the place. Or so said the legend.

Darmon Richter in his article about world’s most cursed islands describes that in the 1920s the villa on Gaiola Island was owned by the Swiss businessman Hans Braun. He was later found murdered on the island, his body wrapped up in a rug. Not long after, his wife drowned in the sea. The next owner was German Otto Grunback who was taken by a heart attack while living on the island. Maurice-Yves Sandoz, another owner, would later commit suicide in a Swiss mental hospital. The next, a German industrialist by the name of Baron Karl Paul Langheim, was plunged into economic ruin and disaster. Years later, the head of Fiat, Gianni Agnelli, would buy the island villa. Not long after, his only son committed suicide, leaving him with no heir. When he began grooming his nephew Umberto Agnelli to take over the company, Umberto contracted a rare form of cancer and died at the age of 33. The multi-billionaire Paul Getty was the next to buy the island, just a little while before his grandson was kidnapped. The last investor to attempt to tame Gaiola was Gianpasquale Grappone… who ended up being incarcerated when his insurance company collapsed.Nowadays, the villa on Gaiola Island remains uninhabited as it slowly falls into ruin.

Guess why?

Giaola-1-logo-new.jpg

Do you like mysterious places?

Sort:  

I'm glad you fell in love. I hope you'll come back!

Wonderful series. Congrats on the @photomatic curation!

Thank you, thank you, Lisa! Yes, I'm flattered :D

I can see the intrigue. I've never heard of this place before. Very interesting photo blog.

Can you climb up onto those rocks and see the house and those hidden stairs?

Some people really avoid the place because of the curse but for others, it's like an ancient playground. You can dive in the gulf and admire underwater museum and yes, you can climb into the house and the bridge that connects two islands. "Brave" kids would jump from the rocks into the gulf during the summer.
I'm happy that you fund it interesting :D
Thanks, @countrygirl

Ah, the cursed Gaiola Island. Looks really eerie and the misfortunes of those who stayed there make it even more fascinating. Good place for a movie plot or a wedding proposal. 😂

I do love mysterious places and on my list is Hoia-Baciu Forest. I went to Iulia Hasdeu’s Castle (not really mysterious, just supposedly haunted) and both me and the ones that were that day with us on the tour felt sick. Could be the air, could be a ghost, could be the creepy pictures we saw there. HA!

About wedding proposals, my boyfriend told me lately, that if he ever proposes it will be North Korea. Haha!

Now that would be something I would like to see 😂 Keep me posted!

Of course, @szuri! Just don't expect any updates on the subject in next 20 years ;)

Beautiful, Agniese! Resteemed! I loved the writing too.

Aww, thank you so much for resteeming, Catalin! Yeah... I know you like creepy places so I hoped for your approval ;)

Wow... such a creepy place! Is this story a horror movie plot?
I maybe like mysterious places, but this is just maybe a little bit too much!
The photos are gorgeous!

Meh, don't be a nancy, Miro ;) I'm not into horror movies, because the reality can be much worse ;) The best thing about the whole mystery of Gaiola is that is based on a true story. Nah, nah, nah.
Hope you're not gonna have nightmares because of me, my friend!

I have often wondered if these places are really cursed or if it is all a string of bad coincidences. I love mysterious places and your photos are wonderful :) Cheers!

If you only think that a string of bad coincidences means cursed place... Makes sense, right? ;)
I'm happy you like the shots. Cheers, Dan!

Congratulations! This post was picked by @catalincernat and will be resteemed on @photomatic and also will be featured in our daily post!

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.png

Thank you so much! That's a huge dose of motivation for me :)

Great images, and such an interesting story! Would make a great movie plot! Congratulations on your pick by @photomatic! Well deserved!

Thank you very much! I'm happy that you like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02