Street photography - Chasing the light

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

In the past couple of weeks, I've been working on the critical third element of street photography, besides composition and actual subject - which is light. Previously, I didn't pay too much attention to it, because my main goal was to practice the basics of capturing the decisive moment and making myself comfortable with the camera.

When you think about other types of photography like portrait, food or landscape photography, light is one of the first things that come to mind. In street photography it's all about the subject matter. However, light can be a difference between good and bad photo. Good light makes a photo look much more pleasing to the eye, colors pop and shadows are not harsh or distracting.

So I've been paying a lot of attention to the quality of light and trying to take advantage of it. I'm not a static photographer - I hate staying in one place that has a good light for more than a few minutes and waiting for interesting subjects to appear. But either way, I'm starting to appreciate it as one of the key components for a great photograph.

Hope you enjoy the photos below! More to come soon... (As usual, I was lazy to link the images to big resolution - feel free to zoom in or open the ones you like in new tab)

Sort:  

Such a great thread! I like the how natural all these photos look, I gather you were in the right place at the right time. I especially loved the one with the couple laying down on a rock wall <3 Light actually means a great deal to photography! Can't wait to see more of your work<3

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed the photos. :)

Cool street... I must go there too one day :)

You should. :) It's a great place for anyone who enjoys street photography.

Thank you!! Soon I try :)

Many great images but I especially like the last.

Thank you! That one is my favorite as well. It's actually one of the favorite photos I have ever took because the light is so perfect and the scene was almost movie-like. :)

These are great! So appropriate having a dog with sunglasses..you sure lucked out on that one!

I love the sunset silhouette, the red bus with the woman in the yellow blouse and a green bottle- great contrast. And the shot with the vehicle and guy passing a beer - beer me!

You truly are a streetphotographer. :)

Yup, I was so lucky to stumble upon that scene! But when you wander the streets as much as I do, the luck increases accordingly. :)

The guy was actually receiving a drink in that photo. And you can see me "working" in the one with the lady and red bus. :D

I'm glad you enjoyed once again!

Yes I could! I like it when that happens. Such a great shot.

The dog with sunglasses!!!
Owww
😂😍

He really knows how to enjoy life 😂

Definitely making full use of that light - these are awesome!

So odd that you would post today after a while as I just did a post on my first experiment to shoot like "film" on my Canon inspired by your projects!

Wow that's amazing - heading over to check it out right away!

wonderful....job...I appreciate your work. It is really awesome.
Street photography of random people

Awesome shots 👍 I like the compositions! For me it is still hard to figure out what is good light for photography.

I guess you have to learn that stuff for years and with time become better at recognizing good light. I'm glad you enjoyed the shots! :)

These shots are really good, the quality speaks for itself. Nice work bro

These shots are really
Good, the quality speaks for
Itself. Nice work bro

                 - ebrus


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

what a photography...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79