MyPhotoWalk - I Visited the Tower of Ezzelino and the Monument dedicated to Dante Alighieri - Discovering Italy with alequandro

in #photography5 years ago

Saturday I decided to visit Col Bastia of Romano d'Ezzelino (TV).
A little known hill that is also mentioned in the Divina Commedia by Dante Alighieri!!

P1210077+steemit.jpg

I parked the car near the church of Romano d'Ezzelino, a town located in the province of Treviso and I climbed a grassy path.

P1210052+.JPG

Beyond the row of olive trees stands the bell tower of the church.

P1210054+.jpg

After 15 minutes of walking I reach the top of the Roigo hill, from where I can admire the surrounding plain with the village of Romano d'Ezzelino.

P1210056+.jpg

A sign confirms that I'm going in the right direction.

P1210057+.jpg

Continuing the walk the landscape opens up more and more and looking to the north I see the mountains.

P1210058+.jpg

I was near Colle Bastia when I grew up that there are dandelion flowers in a meadow near the road!
It's early for flowering ... it will be because of global warming!

P1210059+.jpg

A sign with a map tells me that I arrived at the Bastia hill.
As this hill is known thanks to Dante, the local associations have created wooden sculptures that accompany the visitor to the monument dedicated to Dante.
Each work is accompanied by an excerpt from the Divine Comedy... what a beautiful idea!

P1210060+.jpg

Look how good they have made this lion!

P1210061+.jpg

And here is the she-wolf

P1210062+.jpg

P1210064+.jpg

Here I am! I arrived!

P1210065+.jpg

As I climb the last climb before the tower, the surrounding landscape is added.
The day is not at its full splendor, but the surrounding landscape puts me in a good mood!

P1210067+.jpg

I turn my gaze to the top of the hill and see the tower! It is high and you can see it among the trees.

P1210071+.jpg

There are few visitors, I must say that it is really elegant and combines in a very natural way to the landscape.

P1210072+.jpg

Behind me, a mother and son look at that beautiful landscape.
It reminded me of the Disney cartoon scene: The Lion King :D

One day all this will be yours :DD

P1210075+.jpg

P1210078+.jpg

The tower was built in 1827 on a design by Giovanni Zardo, the first cousin of the famous sculptor Antonio Canova.

P1210082+.jpg

P1210089+.jpg

P1210090+.jpg

A few meters from the tower, facing west, there is the monument to Dante Alighieri.

P1210091+.jpg

In the literary work of Dante the Hill is located in the sky of Venus, the 9th canto of Paradise.

The effigy shows what was written by Dante, where the hill is located, that it is a low hill and that it was a strategic point to dominate the territory.

P1210092+.jpg

I decide to continue going down the hill passing through a plantation of ancient Olives.

P1210093+.jpg

I notice an airplane flying over my head and even though it's nothing exceptional, I photograph it.

P1210094+.jpg

I leave behind the tower that like a lighthouse keeps an eye on me as I walk away.

P1210096+.jpg

A solitary olive tree on a hill, has something funny.

P1210097+.jpg

Among the olive trees in the background I can see the bell tower of the church of Romano d'Ezzelino, where I parked the car.

P1210099+.jpg

I make my way between cultivated fields and vineyards.
On the ground there are mounds of earth moved by moles.

P1210101+.jpg

To realize how far I have come, I look towards the Colle Bastia with the tower looking at me.

P1210103+.jpg

A beautiful walk in the footsteps of Dante Alighieri.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for the support!

Amazing photos! Thank you for sharing. I am aiming to go back to Italy, put some of my language learning into action and trek and drone this year :)

Italy is a fairy tale, you do well to visit it!
This summer I will continue to explore the Dolomites that are incredible!
Flying with the drone in the Dolomites must be exciting, also I am fond of drones, this summer I will try the experience!

Excellent! Well if you like hills, mountains and hiking, i would recommend the Lake District here in Cumbria. I've added some images (and will add more soon)

I looked up Cumbria on Google... wow what beautiful places!

I did not even know it existed!
Thanks for the information!

Indeed it is! I just did a blog post on it, that you may like to read:

https://steemit.com/travel/@dronegraphica/drone-travelogue-a-trip-to-the-lake-district-cumbira-in-february

Pictures and some drone videos! Enjoy and thanks for your content

Ok! Now I read it! :)

This post is supported by $0.4 @tipU upvote funded by @photocircle :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

What a magnificent view and astounding shots too!
Good work.

Thank you! Glad you liked it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17