a bit early, aren't we?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

20181009_101333.jpg

I was hiking into town today. The weather has been hot - well, at least warm, being in the 70s and 80s F/24 C to 30 C - and dry with winds. Some are quite gusty, enough so they are like the Santa Anas down south. I've been mildly joking we ought to be calling October "Hot-tober" since its so warm and dry. In San Francisco proper, it is actually almost their summer with the Alaskan current pulling away from the coast.

We did have one brief and somewhat strong rain a few days ago though. It felt like a New Mexican downpour and was over by 9 am.

As I was hiking, though this morning, I heard a rustling. 99.999% of the time, it's a lizard. Twice they have been very small snakes. Once in a while a bird or a bug or a rabbit. Today though, it was none of the above. It was a tree frog! I've not seen the local tree frogs the entire time I have been living in the SF Bay Area. I knew they were around, but I'd never seen them. This little guy was only about as big as my thumb.

I quickly pulled my phone from my pocket and snapped pictures. The first picture here was the last one I took. I am presenting them in reverse order of what they were taken in. I'm really surprised it stayed still long enough for me to get that close. I left him alone after I snapped the pictures and kept on hiking.

I hope it finds water. There's not a lot out there and I suspect it awoke from estivating by the rain shower. If it doesn't find water, it's likely not to survive long. Given how dry it is, I am rooting for it, but...

20181009_101308.jpg

20181009_101252.jpg

Sort:  

good job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73