Birdhouse in action - Eurasian blue tit in caught on camera

in #photography5 years ago

Birds 3.jpg

I've built a bunch of birdhouses already last autumn. Now as I set them up the garden, one of the three birdhouses has attracted a bird to build a nest in it. I wouldn't had noticed it but my wife told me there was loud chirping coming from one of the birdhouses and as the bird was too fast to be identified, I thought I'd take one picture of the bird.

But damn, it was fast.

If I got a photo of the birds head peeking out from the hole, I ha to be lucky to even get it's tail in the next one. But after one successful shot I decided to give it a few tries - and ended up sitting for almost an hour taking photos of the bird.

It's common that blue tits lay eggs too early in the colder months and will fail because of the cold or if there's not enough food for the baby birds. Luckily it's a great weather now and the mother bird is able to find food all the time. She was flying back-and-forth to the nest. Not sure if the dad bird is also helping to raise the chicks, but I'm not sure how good fathers the blue tits generally are.

Man-tits.

Birds 4.jpg
Food for the hungry children!

Birds 5.jpg

Birds 6.jpg

Birds 7.jpg

Birds 9.jpg
My god, will they ever stop eating?

Birds 8.jpg

Birds 1.jpg
Fuck this shit, I'm going home!

Sort:  

Cool bird pictures. How altruistic of you to set up free charity birdhouses for the birds. I would be a bit more rent-seeking than that. Why should I house some damn freeloader birds? Just so they can hang around and loudly remind me that it's too late to attempt sleeping?

Yeah, no deal, birds. Fuck you, pay me. And cut your own grass, while you're at it. I'm a slumlord, not a landscaper.

Man-tits.

Theeeere it is. I missed it on the first pass. You would never, ever say "blue tit" or any sort of "tit" without making a joke about it somewhere. I know that much.

Though I thought it'd be something more involving the blue part though, perhaps some Avatar cosplay?

Well I can't admit anything because of the strict taxation and employment laws in Finland, but they're basically working for us to pay for their living. Helping against mosquitoes etc.
Very easy, both parties benefit from this.

Too bad Finnish government would require me to pay for their healthcare, taxes, unemployment fund etc. if they happened to find out they're working for me.

Regarding the blue tits, I'm old school and I'm going with Mystique from X-Men.

Hahaha. This was hillarious.
Man those pictures were amazing. Worth the wait, I'd say. It is really hard to capture (get pictures of) certain birds the way we'd want.
I think that those houses are a great idea. I would have made a bigger entrance, just in case the visitors get fat and need more room, or decide to do some racing to see who gets first.

Regarding the entrance, I had to buy a smaller drill bit to get the right size entrance, as the entrance size largely determines what kind of birds will settle in the birdhouses. This type of bird prefers only small fans and eats on a very strict diet, lots of salad and pure protein in insects. This is why they want to keep the entrance small - to help them achieve their dream body.

Thanks for the comment :)

Hahaha. Interesting. It makes sense. Thanks for the feedback

So much to love about this!! A great bird house - sturdy and clearly wanted and used by the birds.

And your shots!! You have a good eye and clearly the patience of Job to catch these. :)

Years and years ago I worked on the funding for the spectacular volumes published and produced by the Royal Australasian Ornothologists Union and I discovered the world of birds - and "birdos" as they are colloquially called in Australia. :) I remain delighted and fascinated by birds in my Thai-Burmese world all these years later. Can't wait to see the baby birds!

Following you from Chiang Mai in Northern Thailand.

Thanks! I know birds are very light, but still I've been worried that the birdhouse would break under them so I've decided to build all the birdhouses very sturdy. Those should withstand even a child standing on the birdhouse without any issues.

Regarding the photos, the most difficult part was for the bird to trust me enough to enter the birdhouse. I had to be somewhat close to the birdhouse and at first it was a while it didn't fly to the birdhouse at all. But with a bit of patience it soon started to fly back and forth to the birdhouse. It always was just a blink of the eye and the bird had already flied past me.

Birds are truly one of the treasures of the world! And it'd be very interesting to travel somewhere else in the world to see what kinds of birds live there. What's very common to one is exotic and special for others.

Thank you for your comment :)

If you have the chance to come to Northern Thailand, we have such incredible birdlife here in the tropical mountains.... such a joy! I'd be delighted to connect you with some people to take you into the jungles for birdwatching. An idea. Meanwhile, keep at it with the nesting boxes.

Nice! They may lay early, but they seem smarter than the robins, anyway. At least they're nesting in the bird houses instead of over the door to your house!

Robins tend to get more trouble than other birds. That's partially because Police has seen them robin banks.

Nice tits.

Thanks! Shake those birds, babe!

I loved the first shot! 👌
And finally you were able to capture with the head out of the hole too.

You did a great work by building these bird houses. May God bless you for your kind act! @apsu

Posted using Partiko Android

I had to put the best one to the start so it would attract people :)
They are really fast, my suggestion is to start taking photos already before they're flying. The bird is faster to fly than your finger is to take the photo!

Hey @apsu. You still trying to get more tits in your garden. I am happy they have come and are using your bird boxes. Who would forget your post when you were putting them up. It is an amazing feeling that something you have done has worked and is being used.

Well finally the dream has come true and my garden is basically filled with tits. Too bad some of them are too young to be seen.

But now we'll just have to wait.

Now I'm already planning owl-birdhouses for our summer cottage. I might get excited too easily after one successful birdhouse, but who cares!

I love owls and really hope that one works. We had some barn owls in our warehouse and had to get them removed as there was too many poison rat stations in the vicinity. One unfortunately died before the sanctuary came to collect them. They can eat around 12 rats each a day which is quite a bit.

Owls are awesome and it's sad that the barn owls died. I think they have limited the use of rat poison in Finland partially because the predatory animals which eat the rats tend to die, so they're trying to limit the use to professionals.

Also, the owl-birdhouses would be for a small owl species called "Boreal owl":
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boreal_owl

Have never heard of this species of Owl, but they are all fantastic in my eyes and always stop when I see one. I tried to get the warehouses to remove the rat poison and they wouldn't. One or two families of owls around and there would be no mice or rats.

That's also one of the reasons I want some owls there. Not because of rats, but there's mice and all kinds of rodents running around. Before our neighbor had a cat who kept the situation in the control, but now he's no more and the mice are running in the woods.

Boreal owl
The boreal owl (Aegolius funereus) is a small owl. In Europe, it is typically known as Tengmalm's owl after Swedish naturalist Peter Gustaf Tengmalm or, more rarely, Richardson's owl after Sir John Richardson. The scientific name is from Latin. The genus name Aegolius is a type of screech owl thought to be a bird of ill omen, and funereus means "funereal".This species is a part of the larger grouping of owls known as typical owls, Strigidae, which contains most species of owl.

Lucky you, you've managed to take some amazing photos. I could never do that as these little birds are so fast you can rarely catch them on the camera if you don't have a very good one.
I love the different moments you've captured here. One when it's going in, the other when he's coming out and the one where you can see the bird's wings is absolutely gorgeous. I can rarely see birds from so close. Nice job.

Thank you!

They are far too fast, the only reason I succeeded was a birdhouse full of hungry baby birds, so I knew the birds would come. Last few days I've been trying to get good photos of birds in the woods and everything failed. The birds were just too fast when you have no idea where they're going to fly and land.

With birdhouse, you'll know exactly where they're going and you're prepared.

This time all I got was almost a hundred mosquito bites.

😃 I don't envy you for the mosquito bites though

Hi apsu,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Well thank you! You'll get a free bird-badge.
image.png

That's a really nice pair of... uhhhh... Birds you got there sir.

Let those tits birds rub against my wood tree.

You have a lot of patience :) I usually don't take photos of animals because they are too fast and I'm too inpatient to wait and try to get the best shots. But I do admire people who take their time to do it :)

Your photos are stunning! The first one is the best but I also like the ones where the bird is going through the hole :)

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Thank you very much! I wanted to put the best one first so it would attract as many people as possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82