Finnish forest trip - Photography and uninteresting blabbering

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Metsäretki2.jpg

Today we went to a trip to the forest. At first I had thought this man in the sign is a grandpa leaning on the stick, but instead it might be a hiker with a stick and a backpack.

Who knows.

I'll go with the grandpa option.

Metsäretki.jpg

This is one of the multiple forest hiking routes, this one was approximately 7 km long (based on the professional evaluation by one of the people in the group) and as I had told everyone "It's quite short", it turned out it wasn't. As walking 7 km in a forest is not fast. Especially if we have mosquitoes and photographers with us.

You can imagine the amount of moss and vegetation on the ground floor of forest. Then we have bunch of people crawling down on their knees every 2 minutes and attempting to get the perfect shots.

Also comparing the cameras. In the end it feels I spent more time on discussing about cameras than actually taking photos.

Metsäretki3.jpg

Most photos were ass-photos of other people. Mainly for two reasons:

  1. I was mostly walking behind everyone else because I'm a fat bastard as I often stopped to take photos
  2. When I took a photo of someone else, they usually weren't looking at the camera.

Metsäretki6.jpg

The few occasions someone watched at the camera, this is what came out.

"Aye, my father was a tree, this is the reason for my looks."

Luckily in Finland we don't care much for how people look.

beepbeepmotherfucker.jpg

And as you can't can see in image above, we were a bunch of people going through the woods. I had many occasions to great some great photos of their asses from the beautiful nature around everyone. I'm just saying this so you all will be really disappointed the image isn't showing.

I'll try to edit the post later and upload it again, so in case you can see an image instead of a text, you can congratulate me for fixing this.

Metsäretki4.jpg

The woods are full of life. Even though we didn't see animals (except for the insects and one frog. I didn't see the frog though) and you might not even notice all of it unless you get down on your knees to look closer. I will promise to take the same forest path when I have a macro lens so I can get even better photos from the walk.

Now you'll have to stick with the few good ones I have.

Metsäretki7.jpg

Even spending a small moment out in the woods helps to reduce your stress levels, helping to lower the blood pressure levels. This can be improved even more by... stretching in the woods?

In the Finnish woods we might have trolls lurking behind the trees, looking for weak and tasty travelers so they can eat them. This is why you should watch out.

This might also be one of the reasons some of us kept a faster pace - as the trolls might eat only the slowest ones.

Metsäretki5.jpg

The photographer with the red shirt managed to catch a perfect photo.

She saw a rare sight - the large and hairy king of the woods. Usually it's the bear, but today it was just a bread.

Sort:  

Excellent photography eve. I am very happy for your success on steemit. You deserve it for the work you put into the site! Also like how you edit the post. Haha. When I do it, I frantically try to get it done. It's a problem I have with Dlive (because it posts automatically), you have to make the post before the video is uploaded and I wasn't ready for it the first time I used it. Anyways, best wishes!

Thanks, this is indeed the eve of photography. I'm glad too, super happy to be successful as I've worked hard for this :) Hopefully you will too reach new heights in success on the site! I'm not using Dlive myself but hopefully issues like that will be fixed in the future..

Also @eveuncovered did resteem this and I know we both are fabulous photographers and she does look good in the photos.

Beautiful mother nature. I love these kinds of nature adventure, can't really think of any other thing that can be as satisfactory.

Nice little description.

Which one of the women is the mother nature you're referring to? ;)

But this is one of my favorite places and there are so many beautiful spots in the area. Highly recommended if you visit Finland.

Would definitely put this at the back of my mind. I've never seen a temperate forest before

In general at least in Finland there are multiple hiking paths which are basically going through different kinds of woods, so it's not just a walk in one type of woods but you can see many different kinds of nature on one walk.

These are better options than just walking in the woods and you're less likely to get lost.

Hi Apsu. The king of the forest. 7 km mustn't be underestimated, with all the stopping and little detours it will take forever.

Well it did feel like forever. Especially after promising everyone "It's short".

Usually I'm promising women something completely different, and it's never a disappointment if it's longer than expected.

It's been a while since I've hiked a forest trail. I should set aside some time this weekend for some fresh air.

Is that true about lowering stress levels? With the poison ivy, ticks, and Lyme disease to worry about, I get a little anxious - but enjoy it anyway.

Those are some amazing trees in your neck of the woods.

My stress level got higher. Thanks mosquitoes.

We don't have poison ivy and we have very few ticks, especially in the forests like this. They are mostly in tall grasses, at least that's what I assume. The biggest threats are basically deer fly and mosquitoes. There also is only a single kind of venomous snakes in Finland and zero venomous spiders.

We suck at being dangerous.

But you might have a long way to walk in a Finnish forest.

And about the stress levels, this was the first proper English article/study about it:
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0033350606001466

We have some woods similar to this near me and it's always fun to go on a hike through them. Just this morning I was getting ready for the day and noticed a doe whitetail deer nomming on the front lawn. Then I saw another and 2 fawns by the road. My grandpa and I stopped to watch them for a while, I had never seen whitetails stand on their hind legs to get crabapples out of the tree XD Many a time I have startled deer just off the edge of the trails that are well blended in.

You caboose photo is loading now so you must have fixed it, it seems you caught a wild @suesa on your hike as well?

Well she wasn't that wild during the hike, even though I don't have enough data to compare with.

The woods might be similar, but I'm assuming the fauna might differ. I wouldn't imagine meeting any deer in the lawn or anything similar - at best get a moose running in front of the car and it's less nice sight.

I imagine the fauna would be diffrent. I know I've traveled a decently wide selection of locations in the USA and the fauna varies greatly within our borders even!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85