My "Bossy" Elemental Tarot Cards

in #photography6 years ago (edited)
Many years ago I went downtown to the Mystic Bookshop here in London, Ontario to purchase my first deck of Tarot cards. I'd been given the Ryder Waite deck as a teenager by a good friend but I wanted something new and different. Something that called to me.


I'd done some research and decided to purchase a Barbra Walker set but a funny thing happened while I was there. The lady who was running the shop invited me behind the counter to look at and feel all the decks on her shelves. Just as I walked through her little gate a deck of cards fell off the shelf and onto the floor. I didn't really think anything of it at the time. It could have just been vibrations from the construction out front. I picked it up and returned it to the shelf.

I stood there for some time, picking up various decks and reading the packages. She did indeed have the Barbra Walker deck. My hand reached out to take it from the shelf and two feet away from me that same deck of cards fell again. Hmmm.... this time I picked them up and held onto them as I kept looking.

I'm sure you can guess which deck I bought. The deck that seemed determined to come home with me was The Elemental Tarot. And I haven't looked back. It's almost as if they were made for me.

When I finally got home I unboxed the deck and started examining them. To my surprise there were TWO Lovers cards. I spent several days getting to know my cards when I decided I should make a bag for them. A few years before I bought these cards I purchased a yard of material that was so beautiful to me but I had no idea what I'd make with it.

This material was so bright and natural. There were pictures of women washing clothes in the river and some holding infants. It spoke to me again when I was deciding what to make the tarot bag with. I sewed a simple drawstring bag. The drawstring was simply several colours of braided embroidery floss.

The little gem bag was made with a piece of velvet from my grandmother's old skirt that I just couldn't bear to get rid of. It was perfect. After completing the bags I used the rest of the colourful material to make a tarot cloth. It was just a simple square with a simple edging crocheted around. It looked and felt perfect!

Over the years my Elemental Tarot cards have helped me explore and reflect on life and circumstances. I don't regret my purchase. In fact I feel it was meant to be. Have you had an experience like this? I'd love to hear about it.

Until next time friends.....

Coffee Hour

Now streamed live on the Steem Star Network

.

.

.

.

.

.

Sort:  

This is a wonderful post and I am so glad to see some of your stones! You did a beautiful job with those handmade bags! The story of how your cards came to you is amazing! Fabulous! 😊

Hey , I really could use a reading , dm me if you have time
choppy waters , sending sage smoke signal

Beaming love to you, @battleaxe. And Artemis, enjoy that deck! Hope you give our Battleaxe a good reading. 💖

I hope so too. I've never done one without the person here with me...it will be interesting. Thanks @kartrina-ariel.

You bet!! signal received!

Steemit Tarot blog graphic.jpg

Hello from the Steemit Tarot community!

@steemittarot began as a way to curate all the Tarot Tuesday posts that starting popping up on the site. Now the hope is to connect all readers, people interested in learning about the cards, and other assorted people bearing good juju.

To this end, your post has been resteemed and/or upvoted. To find out more, check out the intro post here.

This is a great idea! Thanks.

What a lovely read. My Tales of the Mystical Cats deck did that to me - I was at a Barnes and Noble and honestly not even looking at their tarot cards I was there for a rune set as a newbie with little idea of what I was doing. As I was walking away with the runes in hand my eye caught this tarot set sitting there and it called to me enough that I put the runes down and for the same price bought myself another tarot deck. Seems like sometimes the decks just pick us, as it were ^^

Have you enjoyed your deck? And thanks for the kind words.

I have. It can be quite cryptic, as cats tend to be, but it's a nice change from a lot of my decks that like to be brutally honest and just don't hold back XD

Very cool. I didn't have anything like that happen, but a few years ago I decided I wanted an athame. I'd looked online but most of them are so expensive. Then at christmas time, we had a white elephant gift exchange and someone had smithed an athame and brought it as a gift. I ended up winning it. It now resides on my altar.

I handmade athame? That's amazing!

I'm pretty happy with it :)

I don't own Tarot Cards but I used to do them (I do the online tarot reading), especially when I'm confused and I don't know what to do.

The bag looks pretty and colorful. ^^

You got a 6.80% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @artemisnorth!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17