A day of photographic reflections...and a cute fluffy squirrel

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Nobody can say I'm not putting in the leg-work and if I were part of the actifit gang I'd have maxed out and be flooding the steemit feed with updates about how fit I'm becoming. So, not only am I clocking up the miles and wearing out the soles of my boots, I'm also getting some quality time with my 35mm camera.

This particular roll of Ektar 100-iso film was loaded into my Pentax P30 and with the middle of England being blessed with winter sunshine I decided to take a stroll around two beauty spots I'm fortunate enough to live nearby, those being Attenborough Nature reserve and Nottingham University's Highfields Park.

My aim for the day around the Nature reserve was to concentrate on my exposure and after taking in the scenery for a while I decided to make the most of the river Trent and look for interesting images being reflected in the water.

The day was mostly sunny but often the sun would hide behind a passing cloud. This gave me a great chance to try out the "sunny 16" rule I had learned about in the video below.

All my photos were taken at a shutter speed of 1/125th, which had been set against the iso-100 film inside my Pentax. As instructed, I used only one lens, my SMC Pentax 50mm.

Attenborough Nature reserve

Photo09_9.jpg
(exp. F.16)

Photo07_7.jpg
(exp. F.11)

Photo11_11.jpg
(exp. F.8)

Highfields Park

Photo18_18.jpg
(exp. F.8)

Photo31_31.jpg
(exp. F5.6)

Photo32_32.jpg
(exp. F.11)

Photo21_21.jpg
(exp. F.8)

Photo04_4.jpg
(exp F.16)

Hope you enjoyed the pics!

Before I go, I'd just like to thank those who read my last photography post. You all left me with such useful advice and after absorbing it all I was armed with some fantastic tips about how to get my setting just right.

For anyone who's interested, here is a great YouTube video that teaches you how to expose photos correctly. This video is aimed at film-photographers but would certainly still be useful for those who've gone digital. Big thanks to Foresthillfilmlab who made the video and to @fcdvpds who pointed me in its direction.

Foresthillfilmlab

bannerart.jpg

Sort:  

@article61.
There is a big difference since your last post and you can see it clearly, these pictures are great, well done.
That fat SOB of a squirrel looks like the one who chewed on my nuts :D :D :D :D

Haha!! He's a real fatty!! King of the squirrels I guess.
Thanks bro, that's real good to get that feedback :) have to admit that the sunshine does help a bunch with bringing out some colour.

Natural light is always best mate. My dad was a photographer for years and he was always telling me that natural light was the best.
My uncle was a photographer for a catalog years ago doing fashion and he was a strong believer that if he could do the shoot out side it would be the best for the pictures, the only thing was the catalog he worked for would only let him shoot in doors.
He's now a nurse working in a theater, guess he lived the dream and decided to move on with his life.

I certainly agree with your dad and uncle. It must be nice to cut a career out of photography. Can't fault him for going into nursing, a tough career but very rewarding. Sounds like the creative flare runs through your family.

The thing that came to my mind on your first shot was...

You have to be old... to remember this :)

I think I'm old and bold enough to remember that! Oh no... Thanks for popping in :)

That's a fat little squirrel! I spent a day at Highfields Park last year - it's a lovely environment. I really liked the pictures from the Nature Reserve, that's one place I haven't visited yet. I just read your earlier post, what made you choose the Nikon D3200?

Lol. I'm beginning to feel a little sorry for this squirrel as his girth is getting noticed quite a bit :D
Nature reserve is a great place to go and if you're up for a long walk it leads to "The Steamboat" pub, which is a lovely place to stop for some food & drink. TBH I have only chose the Nikon through a recommendation so if you know of another worth considering I'm all ears...
Thanks for stopping by and dropping a comment :)

I enjoyed the post. I don't always have time to read all of them, but I enjoyed this one (and the one about the welding course). I'm thinking about getting a compact camera myself, I was hoping you would have some clues hehe 😊

Thanks, I'm happy to entertain ;) As for the camera choice, I have no idea, just feeling my way through the hobby as I go. The Nikon is about £250-£300 so I'll wait till I know how to use them properly first. I often go onto ebays heartfoundation page. You can pick up some great deals on here :)

you did great, especially with film. using film could be good because you think more about the shot and you need to imagine your shot before you take it. but knowing the prices in serbia for film and development it will add up fast. i need to finish my role that i have loaded for ages now.
for the dslr-s, if you don't plan to invest a lot get canon 600d. canon has cheeper lenses in that lover price range. 50 mm for that nikon 3200 is around 200e (you have a 100e version but autofocus will not work on it) and for canon it is 100e.
also if you don't want to do video and you find a cheap canon 5d classic, go for it. it is a 15 year old camera but it is still great. i can send you some photos made with it if you want.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the compliment and for the advice. Price of the lenses is something I never considered and I'm glad you've brought it to my attention. I'm very wary about buying a digital camera as it's something I can't afford to get wrong. I would like to have the advantage of being able to do video too, so I'll keep my eyes out for a 600D . My budget will be around £250-£350 so any other suggestions would be well received.
Would also welcome you sending me some images from the 5d as you never know what you find at the 2nd hand/charity shops these days...

click the photo for full screen
_MG_2087 test.jpg

_MG_2050-2a.jpg
It is really old camera, video is not even an option. but the file from it is still good, and it could be found cheap for a full frame camera.
My first dslr was 600d, i still use it from time to time. you can probably find it for 250. by it with kit lens (18-55) and if you can by 50mm. that would be enough for beginning.
this was filmed with that combination

Great results! And the music video is quality. I don't understand the language but the music was cool, very emotional. You're obviously a talented guy. Keep up the good work buddy :)

thanks. it was my first time filming with a dslr, and my first time editing.

Good to see more from you. I especially like the way you switched focus from the guitarist left and right hand controlling the strings, it made me focus on the music in different ways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84