Amateur photography - Fireworks night -

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

As we all know, Fireworks night is now spread over many days and I am certainly not complaining. After falling in love with vintage cameras I've picked up a serious case of the photography bug. I have been teaching myself how to use some of the cameras in my collection and one form of photography that really interests me is taking night-shots. So after picking up a decent camera stand, I couldn't wait for fireworks weekend to arrive.

With the camera now removed from my shaky hands and onto the stand, I waited patiently for the show to begin...
Now, you must forgive me for over-exposing these shots. As the title of this post suggests, I am a complete novice traveling along a giant learning curve. It seems I underestimated how much light would be sucked up and decided it would be best to open my lens exposure to the fullest. On my next try, I will certainly be lowering the exposure and giving the lens a bit more credit as to its capabilities. As I said, this is all part of my training and I'm happy to be making these mistakes, just as long as I can learn from them and improve the next time around.

So, enough of the waffle and onto exposing myself for your constructive critique, I hope...
Here are my favourite shots from the night, taken on my Praktica LTL3 SLR camera. It would be great to hear some advice from any of you learned steemit photographers out there.

Weeping willow

fireworks weeping willow.jpg

Blue Octopus

fireworks blue octopus.jpg

Little bangers

fireworks big bangs.jpg

Blue tips

fireworks stalkbanger.jpg

bannerart.jpg

And now it's over to you and I'm expecting to be schooled. Please don't feel like you have to be polite as I know there are many errors to correct and the sooner that happens the better.

Peace to you and yours

Original works by @article61/Rebel Dan

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Rebel Dan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75