I Bought Myself A DJI Mavic Pro Drone for Christmas!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

So, I've been wanting a drone for over a year now. After doing a lot of research about six months ago, I decided that if I bought a drone it would be the DJI Mavic Pro. A few days before christmas my girlfriend was talking about how much she wanted one for like the 100th time. My crypto portfolio had also jumped like $1500 that day so I was feeling a little more ballin' than usual and I pulled the trigger and bought one on Amazon.

When I got the drone in the mail a couple days later I was sooo stoked but decided to wait until Chrismas to give it to myself so it would be a surprise for my girlfriend. That lasted like 24 hours before I broke down and got it out. After peeling @saysme off of me, I started to set it all up.

This is when I first started having trouble with the app. No matter what I tried, the app wouldn't sync with my remote. It worked on my girlfriends phone but not mine even though we have the same exact Nexus 5x. I eventually factory reset my phone and it started working at the expense of me losing all my text messages. I went outside and flew it around. The app kept on asking me all kinds of questions and disconnecting mid flight but I was happy to have it up in the air. Another thing I don't like about the app is that you have to power on your drone just to make adjustments to the settings and there is no way to program a flight path with out flying the route first. I had been fling for a few minutes when I decided to follow my girlfriend as she walked down an alley in the snow. Everything was going great until I got down to about 2 feet off the ground and the rotors started kicking up snow. The Mavic started freaking out and it's obstacle avoidance sensors got confused. All of a sudden it veered off to the right and rand into a tarp, breaking one of the rotors. I was glad it was only a couple feet off the ground and it didn't hit anything harder than a tarp but this was a good wake up call to how careful you need to be when flying.

Ok, so enough about the bad stuff. Once I worked through a few hiccups and got familiar with the flight controls, this thing is amazing! I'm only a few flights in and I'm starting to get some really cool footage that I'm actually proud of. Below is my first video. The best part about the Mavic Pro is it's portability. I took it a 6 mile snowshoeing trek and was able to fit it into a pretty small camelback The whole drone folds up into the size of a Nalgene bottle. Having a drone that is so portable makes it easy to take it places that are actually really cool to film and probably haven't been filmed with a drone before. The flight time is pretty good and lasts about 20 minutes before it hits 30% and the remote starts beeping like you just set off a smoke alarm. I'm definitely going to invest in an extra battery or two so I don't have to recharge after every flight. Overall, I'm super stoked on this thing. It's a pretty amazing piece of technology. Just 10 years ago you would have needed millions of dollars if you wanted to buy the equipment (a helicopter) needed to get shots like this. It really does seem like we're living in a sci-fi movie with all the cool gadgets that are coming out right now. Stay tuned to My Youtube Channel if you want to see more videos in the future.

Sort:  

Great shots! Have fun with your new toy :)

great aerial shots man! and also the video is good! thanks for sharing! :)

Congrats on getting your Mavic Pro. I have one on its way as I write and man I can’t wait!
Safe flying and keep those Mavic vids flowing. 😀

DJI drones are awesome, I've been using my Spark around the southwest USA for the last couples days and it's amazing. Only complaint is the battery life, which the Mavic shouldn't have since it has twice as much flight time as the Spark.

clingymeme.jpg

Happy new year . Nice post beautiful presented and explained. detail oriented with nice pics and video was amaizing. Thank you for sharing this with us, Upvoted

If you dont mind checking out my blog for latest posts @kingjan. thank you

Nice job with the post bro. This is Reuben.

Hey bro! glad I finally convinced you to join!

I also purchased a Mavic Pro this past july as well.... And in my opinion, is absolutely BEAST. That location in your video is pretty sweet man.

I would hope that perhaps, you would take a moment to check my blog as it is predominantly aerial photography and videos I shot with my Mavic. Haven't traveled the world yet either but doesn't mean that isn't in the plans!

Ill be following your Mavic work closely.

Any tips or tricks you discover or questions you need, I'm the guy!

I'll have to start using arialphotography as a tag. Did you start that?

I did not, but I sure add to the supply of content for that tag on a daily basis. Can't wait to see you add to the tag!

Steem on!

This is a great shot, and you have inspired me to make the jump myself. I have been flirting with the idea of buying a Drone, and even with all the App troubles you had.... just sounds so worth it. Happy New Year!

Spy tech ready, one day we shall have traffic jams in air...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11