Ancient architecture #2

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys how's everyone doing? Sorry I haven't been able to post regularly since a few weeks. I have been working towards a documentary on Ancient Architecture and the technology used for building these marvelous structures in ancient India. I have been travelling a lot these days with my team trying to capture, understand and analyse these architectural marvels. When we finish decoding all the data we have analyzed we get a chance to see our timeline the way it truly is.

DSC_0011.jpg

When I was going through my feed I saw a contest hosted by @juliank on architectural photography and I wanted to share this one with him and the rest of my followers.

Do follow @juliank for some kick-ass eye candies, I promise you , you will not regret it!

So with that being said here's my entry to the contest, a photograph of a sculpture in one of the Hoysala's temple in south India. This is what's left of a beautiful carving after the crude destruction by the Mughal invasion in the year 1398. This sculpture was carved more than 800 years ago and till date Historians, Scientists and Architects are baffled, we use modern power tools to carve rock now, and all those people has just chisels and hammers, which makes this work highly Impossible.

How can someone carve something so intense with such primitive tools? Well that's a question for another day, so lets just take a minute now to admire the beauty of it.
DSC_0219.jpg

It is truly amazing isn't it? Do let me know what you think in the comments below. Please make sure you Upvote and Resteem to show your support. Thanks a lot for reading :)

Have a beautiful day!

Sort:  

Wow, so beautiful piece of ancient art! The details of this sculptures are impressive and I can't image how can someone carve something similar in the past. Great!

Hurts to lose a part of our history!
DSC_0310-2.jpg

I would love to know that myself !
You should look at it with your own 2 eyes, its truly marvelous! The saddest part is that this shrine was raided by the Mughals and a lot of the idols were destroyed in search of gems.

We already miss you, but it's worth seeing those wonderful photographs, what sculpture beauty, this is the best art that can exist in the world, the antiquities are our history, speak of our place and that is part of us as humanity

Can you imagine how beautiful it would have been in its full glory? Scientists and architects till date are not able to crack the mechanism involved in this kind of carving. Since 800 years it has been impossible for them to figure out the technique involved. I am sure this was worth the wait :)

Wow in all my life and experience with art i have never seen something so stunning, i have tried to stop myself from asking HOW whenever i see an artwork that looks this stunning. But now i have to do it again! HOooow was this done??? So much accuracy and precision and details!!

Wow it is truly beautiful!

Not bad working on a documentary right? I could think of worse places to to that haha

This place is just fabulous, takes your mind of the harsh climate. Overall so glad I visited, learnt so much from their architecture

I can imagine. Life can be a lot more worse than being there hahaha :)

hahaha that's why i like to travel. To leave all shit behind

I wonder at the intensity with which the ancient artists used to do the art works. Simply amazing!! "Amazing" is actually a small word for it. Getting short of words now. But this is really very amazing. Hats off to the ancient artists!! :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-09T16:30:33
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 11.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

this must be the most fun day for you, traveling in like everyone, I like your post,

Great sculpture, great architecture, thanks for sharing

Really impressive. The time and craftsmanship that has gone into that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28