I spent the night hours tracking down dark sky locations to get a good view of the Milky Way

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

MILKYWAYROADC.jpg

Here is an edited version from part of a short time-lapse I created.

MILKWAYRDORIG.jpg

This is the original photo with a no edits other than the usual resize and watermarks

I will share a portion of the time lapse as an animation once I get done with more edits. I am going to dedicate more time to taking and editing these type of photos since I love it so much and I hope you do as well.

Do you like the original or edit?

Canon EOS 6D
25 Second exposure
3200 iso
14mm Rokinon

Sort:  

Seems like your place have more stars than other places, the air must be super clean

Part of it is that the camera with a long exposure captures more than what the naked eye can see on its own. The other major factor is a limited amount of light pollution from the city. In a city like New York people may never see the Milky Way unless their is a blackout or something.

I see. I have been to Mount Cook in New Zealand that is famous for star watching but i think my camera wasn't good enough to capture like yours

Amazing photos of the Milky Way and a lot of stars in the dark sky! I like both versions as they have their own styles of beauty. Great shot for the original photo and excellent work for the edited photo. ;)

Thanks @tangmo I really appreciate your comments and log time support.

It's my pleasure! ;)

Thank you for posting these lovely photographs and gifs @azfix.

Such a beautiful scene capturing the stars and starlight.....just amazing.

All the best. Cheers.

Thanks @bentleycapital I hope to attract more dark sky photography fans to steemit once community's start.

These are SWEET! Nice work. Cool no cars ruined it.

I actually did a time-lapse of this one and a few cars came by during the time-lapse. Some of the photos turned out cool with the red lights from the cars tail lights visible down the road along with a clear view of the milky way. I will post more once I get done with the editing, although I am probably wasting my time here on Steemit because of the limited interest in this sort of thing.

No I dont think you are wasting time. Look at it like this: Number one I for one like them. Number two, if you enjoy it, hey its a win-win! Number three, you got $3.50 on this at $3 that is about $10 bucks! Not bad for having fun and who knows how much it might be worth later...

That is a good way to look at it, I am mainly waiting for communities to drop.

I really like both photos, each has it's own merit. The edited version is more dramatic, and shows more detail of the highway, but the other is more as we would see it ourselves.

Thanks @katdvine I enjoy including the original so people can see the differences in the edit. I love the whole process of capturing and editing long exposure dark sky photos.

Amazing photo :-)
Are you satisfied with the 14mm Rokinon?

Yep its pretty much a must for me and very affordable on top of that.

Thank you :-)
I had the Tokina 11-16mm but the distortion was enormous, even with APS-C.

The Rokinon 14 mm has to be my favorite lens, I would buy it again in a heartbeat. I would even go as far to say it should be a requirement to carry in your bag for Milky Way photos.

Thank you :-)
This should be the same lens as the Samyang and the Walimex what I've seen so far. I keep my eyes open and hope to get one soon :-)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-16T17:42:15
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 274.44/400.00
Total Photos: 40
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.18 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I like both of your photographs but i liked more your original photography.

Thank you

Really does space like This appear on earth...man, wanna have walk under those stars..

Yep its pretty cool to see at night

Congratulations @azfix! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71