Testing my Canon EF Lens 50mm 1:1.8 STM - original photos by bitsignal

in #photography6 years ago

m5kc5njr7q.jpg

My new lens - Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 lens

This Canon lens is relatively new. I hesitated a lot before I bought this lens because you can not zoom, which is after purchasing this lens not that problematic. All in all I like this lens because it delivers good results when when you don't have enough lighting or when you shoot sport photography.

My old lens - EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS - Zooming broke

I used to have a EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens which was great depending what you shoot. Under dark light conditions combined when shooting sport photography (fast moving objects) the results are poor.

Test photos

The following photos were taken with very good outdoor light (sun was shining, yeah). This means that the photo scenes were easy to photograph.

hi8ur04b92.jpg

Photo shoot 1 - Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 lens - outdoor shooting

ISO 125 - ƒ/6.3 - 1/500 (sun light)

j18rq3xpgi.jpg

Photo shoot 2 - Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 lens - outdoor shooting

ISO 125 - ƒ/6.3 - 1/500 (sun light)

cgsqhha5nl.jpg

Photo shoot 3 - Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 lens - outdoor shooting

ISO 125 - ƒ/6.3 - 1/500 (sun light)

qk1aj0uaqn.jpg

Photo shoot 4 - Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 lens - outdoor shooting

ISO 125 - ƒ/6.3 - 1/250 (sun light)

yaw61rijzq.jpg

Photo shoot 5 - Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 lens - outdoor shooting

ISO 320 - ƒ/6.3 - 1/80 (sun light)

9py5s5vhot.jpg

Photo shoot 6 - Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 lens - outdoor shooting

ISO 400 - ƒ/6.3 - 1/200 (sun light)

hfukae08xe.jpg

Photo shoot 7 - Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 lens - outdoor shooting

ISO 400 - ƒ/6.3 - 1/320 (sun light)

xk7sx82wy0.jpg

Photo shoot 8 - Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 lens - outdoor shooting

ISO 400 - ƒ/6.3 - 1/320 (sun light)

qhr87mxc43.jpg

Photo shoot 9 - Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 lens - lake outdoor shooting

ISO 400 - ƒ/5 - 1/1000 (sun light)

v1g3eqvwh6.jpg

Photo shoot 10 - Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 lens - lake outdoor shooting

ISO 200 - ƒ/6.3 - 1/320 (sun light)

z9xzx0my59.jpg

Photo shoot 11 - Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 lens - lake outdoor shooting

ISO 200 - ƒ/6.3 - 1/320 (sun light)

Positive lens aspects

It is a relatively cheap lens which delivers perfect results for my usage.

Neagtive lens aspects

This lens has no zooming (that is the reason for the cheap price)

Which lens do you use?

Do you own a lens, are you satisfied with your lens?

Sort:  

The lenses are nice @ bitsignal. The result is satisfactory. Hope you can continue to work. Greetings me from Aceh, Indonesia.

Thank you, I will keep on learning. :)

You are humble, but you have great work.. Keep On..

Amazing post I resteem your posts . Keep going my friend

Your most welcome 😍😍

I don't have a camera because i use my cellphone but i think this lense have a good performance based in the photos that you share, i mean the len works very well with almost any light angle to have a perfect result in the image that you take, i think it was a good purchase 👍🏼. Regards

For most cases, a cell phone camera suits very well.

Very good lens. And you got very gorgeous photos!
I do not have a very good camera. But I'm just learning to take pictures.

Usually I shoot fast moving objects (sport photography). This lens is just so cheap for what it delivers.

Congratulations for your new camera, this is great! the photos are perfect.

I would love to have a good camera and be able to take professional photos like yours. I see your photos and I imagine the beautiful photos that I can take with them to the places I go.

A few days ago you visited my post about LA GRAN SABANA, I would like you to visit my new post about the cave of Guacharo. I'm sure you'll love it and you'll give me the reason, I need a good camera! jajajaj

Usually, I would not recommend purchasing a DSLR for anyone who doesn't have a real reason for it. For me, I need several times a year a DSLR for sport photography whereas a cell phone can not keep up the requirements.

You're right, the lens gives good results, I would like to have a pros camera but where I live, they cost a lot of money so that's why I do not have a preferred lens. For now I only use my cell phone and it has a 5MP camera

I like to photograph food, my passion is cooking but nature also I like those macro photos where you see everything up close

You can actually shoot nice photographs with a cell phone and you always have it right there where you need it.

This post has received a 10.05 % upvote from @boomerang.

Even without a zoom capability those pictures are amazing! And you got so close to those butterflies without zoom! You obviously know you stuff! :) As a someone who is interested in getting started what kind of camera do you recommend as a relatively inexpensive first professional camera? That may be a difficult question to answer but I would like to take pictures (that look semi professional) of food and treats that I make! haha

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

The pictures look fantastic which means that the purchase of the camera was a success 😁

Hi @bitsignal. Great review and photos thanks. These sort of posts are really useful I find. Learning the pros and cons of lenses can be a mind melting occupation sometimes but your method is clear and concise

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79